We are family....
2002-03-31 - 4:53 p.m.

A handful of white chocolate (even if it is Lindt) does not an easter make.

And damn the way noncable tv is broadcasting nothing but sport. I mean you'd think at least one of them would show something ... anything to allow us to escape the drudgery of having to converse with actual family type people.

I almost hope for the day when we'll live in tiny cell blocks and never see the light of day ... much less an actual family member. The only such gatherings will be online, and so happily virtual that we can always block them from talking to us.

I don't mean that and I'm not sure what I'm whining about. So let's swiftly move on ...

Daylight Savings huh? It's baaaaaack ... I hate how no one ever tells me these things - I mean even my computer had it figured out before me. I am forever waking up in my family to be told I am an hour late or an hour ahead ... or more dramatically, that my brother's getting married or so-and-so is dying, but oops, they forgot to tell me...

Well, actually not with the dying. The priest said something today about "everyone having to deal with deaths of those aorund them," and I thought no ... I'm untouched by death.

But not by loss.

And yes I went to Church this morning... mainly because it's easier to go than it is to not and face my mother's whining ... not that I'm un-Christian, I just plan on having a Homer-esque type estranged relationship with religion.

And look, here is another place I didn't want to be.

This morning I spent with my Dad. He bought me a watch for work because I need one, and told me these stories of when he was younger ... like when he was a sergeant in the army... funny, courageous stories that I sometimes worry will die with him.

Maybe one day I will be able to write it down for him... maybe.

My mother is driving me to the brink of pure insanity. She won't stop nagging me about Uni, to the point where I have to retort with "If you say one more word I am dropping out of Uni right now!" And she keeps saying "We'll just wait until you got your marks back," and I keep having to throw the HSC back in her face ... where everyday she would whine and nag about my study habits, and always finish her long tirades with "We'll see..." in this tone that said, I know what's going to happen and you're going to be wrong, followed by this evil smirk thing.

Well we did see and when it came to the crunch I pulled through, entirely on my own. Yet not only does she delight in taking the credit for it, she then goes on to forget the incident entirely and keeps saying "We'll see ... (unspoken: I'm right and you'll be wrong again, nyah nyah!)...

But we did see and I was right and that should be the end, damnit!

If I ever end up going Psycho Alfred Hitchcock style ... we'll all know who to blame.


<< >>