Telling everybody ... the pop in me wins out ...
2001-11-23 - 7:03 p.m.

I think you can tell a lot about who I am by my music collection, and most importantly in what order my current three favourite albums are stacked by my bedside.

Or I'm just making this up...

Well, on the top there is Human Nature's latest best of album ... yes, I know, I'm bad ... but we'll go into this more later. It's basically a pop, sugartastic all singing all dancing Aussie boy band, which is somehow ultra representative of me. I practically run on sugar ...

Then in the middle there is Good Charlotte. I like to think of them as the love children of Blink 182 and Green Day ... but don't think about that too much. They have this punk alternative edge going for them that I definitely love. How is this representative of me? Um ... Good Charlotte. Sounds like a suck up chick I went to primary school with. But if you actually listen to the music they have the whole rebellious edge thing going. Which I have. Sometimes. Not in copious amounts, but it's definitely there.

And then on the bottom there is Garbage's latest. Somehow perfect, isn't it? Under the different layers, there's just a whole bunch of crap.

Not saying the music of Garbage is bad, I actually think it's rather beautiful. Beautiful Garbage. Yes, I'm very sensical now...

Sometimes I worry that high school may have actually taught me something. I know I should probably be pleased that I've managed to walk away with some knowledge of something after six years, but it feels far more like defeat. Like all the things I struggled to block out as they tried to pound it all into my brain trickled in anyway.

Damn brain-washing.

Ah well. I can always relax in the knowledge that I gained nothing from Maths. Well, nothing mathematical, at any rate. Sorry Mr Ferch ...

Right now the Human Nature album is playing in the background of my typing. One band, soooooo many love songs. I imagine they are what happens when a barbershop quartet is forced into the new millenium. They still harmonise, but now they do it a little faster, pop-ier, and with "spiffy" clothing and choreographed dance moves thrown in for the fun of it.

I bet you're wondering why I own this album. It's not exactly my taste ... although I do have a rather large affection (or should I say affectation? Or maybe just skip straight to affliction?) for pop music.

The answer is: I bought it because nobody stopped me! I saw Human Nature perform at Fox Studios yesterday with Shelley, Vyv, and Missy. And of course, all it really takes is for a popstar to look in my general direction (Toby, aka the cute one with nice arms, pointed at me during a song ... and Shelley went "Go Babs,") and zap, I somehow end up buying their album.

Damn brain-washing.

So yes, that was my yesterday. We came, we saw, we mocked... Shelley got her arm signed by the band, Vyv did some interpretative dance moves. All good.

Went shopping with Missy and Shelley today. I bought another formal skirt, which is purple, to match my shiny green formal top. But now my mother is giving me stress over her idea that purple and green should never go. But the purple has a greenish tinge and ... well, it's all a matter of opinion really. Can purple and green go together? Now my mother has shaken my confidence and I'm not sure. Eh, I can always go back to wearing a black one. But I do like the purple one so .... I tried it all on and walked up to my father and said "Hello, I am a mermaid," to which I got a "That's nice. Have you seen the remote?" Yes. You can always rely on my father to be generally unaffected by the state of things.

...Do green and purple go? Maybe not like always, but, ever? Leave me a note about it, because I'm worrying more and more now....Dang mother.

Damn brain-washing.

But otherwise I'm all set for the formal. I've got the skirts to chose from, the bag, I can wear my old shoes (although my mother disagrees), and the makeup and hair appointments are set. I can do the nailpolish thing myself. Beautician's on Wednesday. And remind me to buy film.

I'm over the whole formal thing. I'd much rather go to the Train Concert which by some misfortune falls on the same night. I saw the ad for it last night on TV and every cell in my body started screaming for me to go to the concert.

I actually pretty seriously considered going to the formal for an hour, then leaving a note saying "Bored now. Have gone to see Train," but something tells me my friends wouldn't take that so well. 'Specially not Vyv, for leaving her behind. But eh ... this formal thing better be damn entertaining, I'm missing Train's only Sydney show for this...

Tomorrow I'm going to Rumba, the big Sydney pop concert thing. Should be interesting ... I'll let you know.

The screen just blurred itself in front of my eyes. I think I need sleep. I haven't had a good day to myself in a week and a half and I think my body's struggling with that. Not to mention my finances (ahem, or more accurately, my parents) but eh, I'll get a job soon ... as soon as one falls in my lap. No, I'll get one, I swear ...

I just realised I'm sitting typing this in the dark for no reason while Human Nature belt out the line Why is it always me, alone? Still dancing when the party's over... That line relates to me far too much. Not that everything does, but it's so easy to misconstrue these things. Afterall, everyone else does.

I'm such a dweeb...



<< >>