Say you'll come and stop the rain
2002-08-13 - 4:45 p.m.

Woke up to find myself sleeping on what I thought was a button. Sadly it turned out to actually be one of the earphones of my precious baby discman.

Apparently sometime after 1 am I zonked out while listening to Be Not Nobody, and knocked my poor beloved to the floor.

This was discovered 9 hours later when my alarm went off, causing me to mumble "Oh, poor baby, are you okay gorgeous? I'm sorry..."

Am happy to report that despite my unintentional violence, discman is fine and all is well between us.

It was a weird start to a weird little day. Well, not that weird. First class was about 20 minutes late to start because an alarm started going off in the lecture theatre.

At first everyone stood around waiting for someone to either turn it off or run by screaming "AHHHHH! I'm on fire!!" which we hopefully would have taken as a cue to leave.

Neither of these events occurred so we stood around longer until a pre-recorded voice started telling us to evacuate.

It was a lady's voice and she was overly calm I think, as although we did leave it was in an unhurried single file.

Where was the panic, the pushing old people down and screaming I ask you? Preferably in that order.

So we all stood outside the building. Well, most people did, I went to get hot chocolate.

It was cold, damnit.... Firemen showed up which was woo! I was hoping they'd chop something down at least but they just went in and turned off the alarm.

Kind of disappointing. It's not that I want uni buildings destroyed because I like uni muchly in comparison to its predecessor, but... after all those high school fire drills you hear the alarm and you kinda want something to burn.

Cold again today, which had me stressing over what to wear tomorrow because had planned spring-like outfit. Have since realised will make a sane decision for the greater good and will solve chilly problem by doing the logical thing.

Plying myself with alcohol.

Yeah, I know, just when you thought comfort was going to smash a chair over style's head, style's produced a liquor bottle and is waving it threateningly.

You know how they say inside every fat girl there's a skinny one? I agree with that. I also believe inside every average girl there's a skinny girl, an academic, a lazy girl, a slut, and a romantic idealist.

Currently the skinny girl and the fat girl are fighting it out inside me. Skinny has the support of the slut because the slut knows she'll get more guys that way, Fat is bouyed onwards by the romantic idealist who thinks there is someone out there who will love us as we are. Skinny was winning yesterday morning as we rose at 8.30 and didn't eat a thing til 2, but after this Fat had her revenge by consuming 5 pieces of cake in the following ten hours.

Lazy is looking on half-amusedly while Academic occasionally prods her and says "Do something!".

Now if you'll excuse me I have to go inside because Fat wants chips and Skinny wants water and Lazy wants TV and Academic thinks we should be doing uni work.


<< >>