Rushing without the rush.
2002-01-10 - 4:59 p.m.

Am again confronted by a sense of business ... no ... 'busyness' and the urge to rush around without actually moving at all.

Tonight I have to sew the hem of my denim skirt (which I apparently pulled out some how. And I mean sew by hand, an area in which I can only begin to emphasise how much I suck), tape things from my camcorder onto a cassette (for my parents, even though the dastards have guilt tripped me out of taking it to Melbourne ... this will involve connecting strange wires to the VCR somehow) and study for my learner's test and also call Alex back.

While also fitting in usual daily activities and accomodating my mother's frequent nagging requests. And half the day is already gone ...

I just got back from my beautician's. Legs are stinging as I type this. Am currently fuming at society, and my genes, for forcing me into this kind of ow. Am also thinking about what a wonderful job a beautician would be for a sadist - people pay you to hurt them!

But I always manage to smile at her, despite the ow she puts me through. Perhaps it's because although she's seen most of my body, she has managed to not run away shrieking.

Comforting, that.

Speaking of my mother's nagging requests, there she is now. So I'm finishing now ...

Walking out from the beautician's I put my sunglasses on and felt like celebrity in rehab hoping to go unrecognised. There were some crazy guys in front of Coles. Talking, laughing loudly, one of them glanced at me for a second. It was strange, in an indescribable sense... not that he saw me looking back (yay, sunglasses). Then he said something to his friend. Words I could not hear, but I knew the tone, one of daring. I few seconds later his friend asked a woman in front of me how she was. Whilst putting on a strange voice and waving his arms in front of him in curiously fluid motions. The guy and his friend then laughed uproariously, and I overtook the woman and walked a hint faster.

It was kind of like meeting a guy version of me and Shelley. Highly odd.

Except they were both cute. Maybe if I hadn't had my celeb-in-rehab look going I would have stopped for a second ...

Maybe not.


<< >>