A little bit about work and religion
2002-03-24 - 11:23 a.m.

[You try to break the mould
Before you get too old
You try to break the mould
Before you die]

I get Friday off! Woo-hoo! But instead am working Thursday, eh.

While I was working the express lane the other day a woman came through and bought two items, which were probably unrelated ... but still.

A whole bunch of easter eggs and some condoms.

I couldn't help but wonder if she was going to melt the eggs down and shape them into easter penises. Or something.

Easter penises? Is that sacriligious somehow? Well, it couldn't really be, I mean even Jesus must have had a ... ewww, let's not go here.

Quick, change topics! Oh, I think my last customer yesterday may have been Corinne Grant's [from Rove] blonder but same sounding sister.

I'm really liking the checkout chick thing, despite the stupid mistakes I keep making (which are okay to make as long as there's someone smart nearby, but scary if there's just you) mainly because so many different people come through, especially working in Broadway ...

My clientele ends up being represented something like this: sweet old people, patient mothers, art students from uts (spottable a mile off), gay couples, chatty people who buy a lot of cat food, and just crazy insane people (like Corinne Grant's sister's friend who yelled out "Yes!" and started laughing when their total came to $59.99)...

It's still weird being on the other side of the checkout. Some people don't even acknowledge my existance just because I'm there to serve them...

Grrr. Run you down with my car, then we'll see who exists.

That made little to no sense whatsoever but I think you got the point, and are currently going "Ow! That was pointy!" ... only not really at all.

I have a bruise on my arm from work and it's gone yellow and icky ... I got it when I had to bend down and pick something up after standing up for four hours ... my legs couldn't take it and I fell into the corner of the plastic bag holder thing. Yes, I had no reason to share that with you but pffft.

Nothing much else to say, gotta get ready for work ... oh, except that I've been watching the first four episodes of Buffy with Director's commentary and Joss Whedon is a god!!

Now that there was definitely sacriligious.


<< >>