Suppose I said, you're my saving grace
2003-11-06 - 1:35 p.m.

Yesterday's orientation was a bit mind-numbing but okay. As well as all the usual company propaganda and register procedure, I learned some things.

I learned that I have lost all the manners they drilled into me in primary school, as I rudely interrupted the super nice trainer.

I have a theory that I find it harder to be nice to someone who's already being incredibly nice. Like I want to be rude just to make up the balance.

But yes, anyway, he was very nice and rather amusing. I had to bite my lip really hard in order not to laugh when he said "[importance of safety in the workplace], we don't want you walking out of here in a wheelchair,"

I also learned that I have an incredible amount of self-restraint; I spent the day sitting next to this man who kept biting his nails, which made me fantasise about rolling up all my booklets and hitting him over the head.

He was also irksome because he was quite old, 50s I think, and I couldn't help but look at him and think "Shouldn't you have a career by now, or be retired, or something?"

Ah yes, when I get that old I should definitely be put out to pasture, I'll bake and knit and watch my soaps, it'll be dandy.

I'm still tired, yesterday was an awfully long day. I've slept a lot but none of it was restful exactly.

My dreams were saturated in themes of cutetutor, which, though lovely, is bad.

Only people who mean something to me seep into my subconscious that way. And I hate feeling like I've lost someone like that. But you don't lose what you never had. So I, am just going to, get over it.

Yes.

If next to me/Is all that you need to be/Would you settle for fantasy/If it's the best you could do?


<< >>