Sense suffocation every day, I share your breath from far away
2004-09-19 - 2:14 a.m.

I went to my nephew's communion tonight, followed by a relatively big-sized family shindig-type-thing afterwards.

Since I am a generational freak, I have to choose which age sector to hang with. The Really Old People Who Ask Me When I'm Going To Get Married, The Adult People Who Are Approximately Twice My Age And Repeatedly Ask Me How Uni Is Going And What Am I Doing Again, or the Toddlers to Young Teens Who Ask Me Nothing.

Not exactly a tough call, obviously. You know what I realised though? I totally do not spend enough quality time with 3 year olds.

Hanging with my niece's little cousin. She decided we should sing "Happy Derday" because there was a cake, even though it was no one's birthday ... social conventions be damned! And we had tickle-fights and and ... SORRY, I WILL HAVE TO TALK IN CAPS NOW SO YOU CAN HEAR ME OVER THE LOUD DISTRACTING SOUND OF MY MATERNAL INSTINCTS RAGING ...

/Sidenote/ Did you know that women's pupils dilate in response to all babies? But men's pupils dilate only in response to their own offspring? blondeinside.diaryland.com: now with actual learning. whoda thunk it. /End Sidenote/

But anyway I guess my favourite part was when she shot me with a toy gun repeatedly, and I spasmed shrieked flailed moaned groaned writhed gasped rolled my eyes and fell off the couch.

I love that something as simple and as morbid as pretending to die can make her face light up with amusement.

Plus I'm teaching her important lessons about mortality and the fragility of life and how it's funny to shoot people.


<< >>