don't take me over, just take me there
2002-12-19 - 5:19 p.m.

Damn. Opened this window out of habit again, forgetting that I am bound by obligation to now fill it with something.

Christmas is still looming, waiting to club me over the head possibly. Has the rate of time passing changed? These days used to drag on infinitely when I was younger, and now it's like every day is just another fast but annoying struggle to keep on going.

I used to spend hours lying under our Christmas tree, watching the lights and thinking about presents. And now the only time spent relaxing is when I'm not conscious and we don't even have a tree up yet, the presents are getting stacked up in front of the tv in some sort of "tv is god" shrinelike fashion.

Finally read first book of Harry Potter, due to someone exerting a little pressure (well, putting her copy of the book in my bag counts as pressure). It was well written. Cute even. There's something I don't like about it, but I haven't quite put my finger on it yet... it could just be that I tend to be critical of things when I am late joining a bandwagon.

Or else that, I'm not particularly in favour of someone being singled out and being considered special for whatever reason. Either we all are or no one is, and personally I'm on the side of the latter.

Something else about disliking fiction in general, just because the lines of realities are distorted enough without more lies. But mainly there is just an urge that, for once I would like to see the protagonist not prevail. I want to see you to fall flat on your face, to suffer, and for that to be the end.

Unhappily ever after may not be the truth, but being surrounded by the equally deceitful opposite is just so nauseating.

And although I don't particularly expect this to be happening in children's books, I don't think we are currently sending the right message. I think the main reason being a teenager is/was so hard is because all the childhood delusions society loves to perpetuate are shattered individually, repeatedly.

Everybody say bye-byes to Babs the cynical, the next show is at 10.


<< >>