it all comes back into focus, when you uncover your eyes
2004-01-17 - 3:15 p.m.

So, I'm back. I've been in hospital for the past week for my eye ... it's almost better now.

No cute doctors, not too much pain, but it was kind of scary for a minute, because they said if it got any worse I could lose my vision.

Nice I suppose in perspective giving at least. And all week I've been dying to go home, and now that I am, it ... doesn't feel like it. Where am I? I mean, really.

I think somewhere in there I promised God that if he got me through it unscarred I would try harder to learn whatever it is I'm supposed to know already.

Hospital stay overall was refreshingly draining. I read Gone with the Wind and the last Harry Potter. Reminded me of the days when I'd just suck every story down, one after another after another, trying to fill that space.

I think that's dented and demented me in the long term, I find it gnawingly difficult to accept that reality has more than one dimension.

1367 junk messages ... bloody bigpond.

I have nothing of interest or amusement to say, so I'll end with some lyrics that sum up january somehow, though I know you won't read them, I'm humouring myself.

Making the best of the days
That's making up the worst of years
The distance from here to there
Is further than it first appears

Travel the states of your mind
Spending too much time alone
Gone out looking for fun
But only bringing anger home

No one here can give protection
To save you from yourself
You might need direction
But we won't call it help

Cut off my hands if you must
I know that it's not your style
But what lies under the dust
When you haven't moved for awhile

If the situation's hopeless
You settle for a second prize
It all comes back into focus
When you uncover your eyes

I don't mind all the friends
That you always bring around
Or the way you hang your crucifixes upside down

Tomorrow you can face the weather
Or fuck it all up today
But could you keep it together
Just while I'm away

[Shane Nicholson - Keep It Together]


<< >>