Ready, set ... play
2002-06-05 - 11:37 p.m.

So I'm updating just because no one else is and because there isn't anything left for me to procrastinate with... isn't that amazing! Who ever would have thought you could run out of things you could use as procrastination!

But it's true. I've eaten; I've napped; I've bopped around (chair dancing, yeeah) to music; I've fiddled with the html on my archive pages and my shiny new guestbook (... I can't be bothered to link, but do take that as a not so subtle hint); I've stared into space; I've had some nice smartguy fantasies; and god help me, I came about this ---- close to cleaning my room.

You know it must be serious if I would rather clean than do the task.

So ... been thinking about smartguy for the past few hours on and off, which is kind of wrong considering earlier today I decided I didn't actually like him afterall.

Odd, isn't it.

But anyway, have been trying to devise subtle ways of a conversation happening without me making barely any move at all.

Needless to say this is difficult. It's like a kind of game where currently all play is suspended because when fate threw me the ball I tried to throw it into his court but instead, in my usual style of spectacular lameness, I missed and it somehow ended up somewhere in the bushes behind me.

So yes currently we're both dawdling on court because even if I did throw the ball out of play there is no way in hell I'm going to find it now to start the game up again.

This is of course because there is no subtle way that I can put the ball back into play without showing that I want to play, which would lead to a serious disadvantage in my game. And of course chances of him going to get it are literally non-existant because chances are he doesn't even know he's playing the game so why would he go fetch a ball he doesn't realise is missing?.

Urgh, frustration. I'm usually better at these kind of games because of the regular practice I have in my home life with my family but let's face it, this is a court that I've never played on, against an opponent I've never faced before. It's a different game with different objectives and I think I'm out of my league here.

You know what is kind of ironic? That I took a sporting metaphor this far considering my total lack of literal sporting ability.

You know what else is ironic? The fact that I used a metaphor to describe this little non-situation. Because the situation exists in my linguistics tutorial and a metaphor is a linguistic concept.

...Well maybe not ironic so much as damn appropriate.

Life's no fun if you can't make the links.


<< >>