Golden ... silence no, medal yes.
2002-02-18 - 4:27 p.m.

Yesterday for the very first time ever Australia won a gold medal ... and okay, maybe it happened because all the other competitors fell over but for me that doesn't lessen the patriotic joy I'm feeling.

I think patriotism is a good thing. A country seems most united when they're going "Nyah nyah, we're so much better than you!" to some other country.

And I'm a little in love with Steven Bradbury, the winner of the medal ... only not really. I've been watching the race footage pretty much on loop since yesterday and I love the expression on his face ...

"Oh my God, I think I just won!"

And I loved the way he babbled mindlessly during later interviews. And I loved the way he picked up on the trivial phrasings of questions put to him by various interviewers.

Put it all together and I just want to give him a big hug and then jump up and down screaming "You won!!" ... although I'm sure he's pretty much aware of that by now.

I don't know, there's something about people who appear socially inept that makes me feel a certain bond with them ... me of course being goddess of foot-in-mouth disease, patron saint of tongue-tiedness, and queen of rambling.

One last thing slightly related to the patriotism in this entry ... if you're Australian or whatdoIcare, even if you're not go and sign up to be a Smiggin Holes Volunteer ... it's the least that you can do.


<< >>