Here's to a year of being hisk free
2002-10-20 - 7:41 p.m.

Did you know, the 2002 HSC starts tomorrow? HSC being NSW's version of the grandtastic exam signalling the end of secondary education for poor current lil high school puppies.

English exams are tomorrow. It's hard to believe that this time last year, all my favourite high school people were sitting around stressing&obsessing over their notes while I sat nearby laughing and amusing myself like it was just another day.

Reality check #1: it was just another day.
Reality check #2: I'm trying to remember what we studied last year, and all I can come up with is a vague mental image of a book of stupid poetry with trees on it.

I love the fact that I went into all my exams knowing all that crap would be meaningless in a year, and now a year later I can say hell yeah.

Although truthfully the exams were meaningless to me at the time, but that's another story.

This is all I will say about exams, unless on the off chance there is someone about to do them reading in which case I say: it's just a mark. It's just another number that doesn't say anything about you.

Truthfully, in the scale of important numbers, I feel far more obsessed by my weight than by my uai.

I actually couldn't even remember the word/acronym 'uai' just then. But then that's me.

You know what the funny thing is? I didn't even realise a year had passed til I noticed former-melty-hair-boy was not at work tonight. And he always works sundays. But not tonight...

Bad for me, that shift is always a killer even with him around. Without him was much worse. I bet he's at home, cramming like there's no tomorrow... not that that really works as an expression, since if there wasn't a tomorrow well then he wouldn't be cramming.

Still. I wish him luck quietly in my head. Mainly because on the chance that if he does well he might decide to go to my uni... *giggles* narf.

Today I realised how hard it would be to leave work, though I want to for many reasons... I want something closer, and paying better... but I love the vibe of broadway. And the people. And I don't know if I could ever bring myself to go, go and leave his melty hair there never to be stared at by me again.

We'll burn that bridge once we get to it. Cross it? Burn it after? I forget. Let's hope I get lucky and he leaves there first so I don't have to leave him behind.

How lame is it that that's my definition of "getting lucky" in regards to him? How much lamer is it that I am well equipped for being left behind....

There will be other hair I suppose.
Just none quite like his.

That's fate's cue to scribble the above paragraph quietly to herself, so that in forty years time when she reintroduces him to me and he has a mullet *shudder,shudder* she can point and laugh all the more.

My ling is still not done. It is due tomorrow and I am stuck. I've been trying to do it since Friday... last night I made some progress but got bogged down.

And then I panicked about being bogged down and procrastinated by playing solitaire vegas style, with the thought "if I can just win once, I will have enough smarts to do my ling work"... meanwhile $1000 down and I still haven't even won once. Once!

Talk about quitting while you're ever so behind...


<< >>