too young to hold on, and too old to just break free and run
2005-01-23 - 11:55 p.m.

Spam I got today:

Hi Jbjuan,

Anxiety sufferers tend to set unrealistically high expectations for themselves. To counteract this tendency, set goals that you can easily accomplish. This builds your confidence and your sense of accomplishment.


Is it just me, or does this seem like kind of actually good advice? Hmmmmm.

Spending time with my nephew today, watching a tv show on reptiles and insects:

Nephew: Did you know that (some reptile on screen) can eat 45 ants in a minute?
Me: No, No I did not. Wow.

Later, flicking through his book on reptiles and insects (are you seeing a trend here?):

Nephew: Oh look, and here's a male (some insect).
Me: Wow, how do you know it's a male?
Nephew: *points at caption*
Me: ... Ohhh.

Children, aren't they marvellous. Though he's a bit too old to be called that, he's 9. But he's still not too old to be swallowed by an anaconda! (Mmmm, edu-tainment) I of course brought this fact to his attention with a point and a cursory "Hah!", which slightly perturbed him actually. I'm so matooore.

D-land refuses to regenerate my diary with any speed, so I feel like I'm writing blind... if a Babs falls in an empty forest and there's no one around to hear her, does she make a sound???

............ Yes.

From experience I think it goes something like "ohgodohgodohgod, fucking trees, can anybody hear me?! Hello? Hulloooooo??? Cooooo-eeeeeee!! ohfuckohfuckohfuck."

House-life (funny, didn't even think to use home-) is consistently crappy, both my Dad and I continually get frustrated and end up bemoaning the other person about not picking up enough slack. But shrug. I'm used to it, and used to inexplicable conversations about things like forks.

Dad: There's only one fork in the house.
Me: Damn... there were two yesterday.
Later -
Dad: Oh, oh, I found two more forks. They were here.
Me: No you didn't. I found them at the back of that cupboard earlier and put them there.
Dad: Yeah, and I found them here.
Me: Yeah, but I found them originally, when they were actually missing.
Dad: Yeah, but I found them now.
Me: *disapproving squint*
Dad: *happily oblivious*

And so on and so forth. That's pretty much a complete picture of life currently, except for those bits that decide they can't show themselves; and those bits I rant on about ad nauseam: can't sleep right don't eat right have no job nor direction and I could really use a freaking hair cut.

But love to the universe and back. Seacrest, out.


<< >>