Love United
2002-06-18 - 2:45 p.m.

I didn't get up til noon again today ... the downside of staying up to watch crap tv.

I woke up at about ten and I just laid there for two hours in that semi-comatose state where the only thought that comes to mind is "If I get up I'm going to have to do a hell of a lot of work,"

But mmm, my bed... so toasty warm that it without doubt falls onto the list of inanimate objects I might consider marrying.

Joining the likes of other things like Linguistics. Is it scary that I have given this thought?

I mean, one day I was just sitting at my desk and I realised that if my courses were people and I was single and rapidly approaching 40 with no sign of a life partner in sight, I'd probably propose to my good friend linguistics.

I mean, sure, maybe I would never win an argument against someone who always has the power of syntax and semantics on their side, but look on the bright side...

Conversation would never be dull and after a while we would have children running about the place who are bound to be linguistically inclined later in life. Just like their Papa and to a far lesser extent, Mama. Aw.

Whereas marriage with my bed would only produce tiny child-sized beds as offspring...

Although if I married the mattress for a short time and then divorced him for Ling not only could I enjoy both worlds, my children from first marriage could be beds for children of my second marriage.

See? Everybody wins!

I hope everyone knew I was weird before this entry, otherwise this all may have come as a bit of a shock.

Meanwhile, you know who else's babies I have decided I wanna have? Soccer players! I watched the filming of the charity song "Love United" on SBS in which a bunch of renowned soccer players sing and they were all so terribly bad that I found it absolutely adorable.

Oh yeah, did I mention I was weird?


<< >>