you're in my heart, the only light that shines there in the dark
2004-04-26 - 10:37 p.m.

My computer is now officially in genuine hysterics. The last three times I tried to write in here, it panicked and froze. Earlier today when I tried to play a foo fighters cd, it froze so badly that when I tried to restart it, it claimed it was missing an operating system.

So I had to format the hard drive, erasing years worth of files... documents, images, software. All very very gone.

I've spent the last few hours trying to convince the computer that it is in fact connected to a scanner and printer, desperately looking for the registration code for windows, and wondering where my word program went.

I think the valuable lesson I've learned from this is... next time I'm getting a mac.

Damn you Bill Gates! And your little company too! Cackle cackle.

It's been a strange lil long weekend, quiet, but in an off way.

Minor dramas leaving me veging to the nth degree. I think if people saw me in my veging act I would be mistaken for actual vegetation.

Sure there'd be a few naysayers in the beginning getting a bit worked up about my wannabe-plant attitude but I like to think that eventually some hippies would chain themselves to me and we'd all live happily after...

At least, that will always be the dream...

Ahem. To dear person of IP address 203.109.249.# who has been reading large chunks of back entries (a sitemeter is a nerdy girl's best friend), either 'fess up or shoo. In fact if you are who I think you are, you can just do the latter; you are not welcome here.

And if you're not... well, howdy, stranger. Knife wielding maniacs need not apply.

Oh oh, you know what I learned the other day? Cute guys go to book fairs! And do you know which section they hang around?? Poetry! I know, I know, so ridiculously tacky and predictable, but I loved it.

That and the musty smell, I've learned to love that smell and the feel of crumbly pages more than the print.

Also, is it bad that I found a bunch of self-help books directly in front of the section marked 'women'? I gave it a feministy disapproving eye. Although to be fair, there were no 'men' sections, as if at some point someone decreed "Fine, you can have your patriarchy ... but you will be under-represented in modern literature! Mwa ha ha ha!"

Maybe I should have stuck to my primary school dream of being a librarian. But I feel like I've already lived out that one; I've read more than enough books to fill this room and I was a library monitor back in the day, with the shiny badge to prove it (very impressive I know feel free to bow down and worship).

I just want to be happy... and doing something. It's too damn wide open! And time is running out, with the biological clocks and the ticking and sand grains and days of our lives and oy....

Music makes me happy, but then so does the weather, perhaps not the best argument. And tv and shiny things and fashion and movies and cocktails and make-up and writing and helping and desserts and cooking and dancing.

So now I just need ... to combine them! ... somehow.

I'm open to suggestions.

Unless it's stripping... (but prostitution I'm apparently fine with).


<< >>