Married with children. Not.
2001-11-03 - 12:55 a.m.

Current Mood: Bitter/sweet. Bitter because I have that horrible aftertaste from an awkward at best evening. Sweet because I have kickass hair. *Pats her hair* Soooooo soft. I could sleep with this hair. Well, actually, I do ...

Important note: I think the kickass hair has finally made me realise what I'm looking for in a guy - just someone who's a smart/good looking/rich/powerful/funny/sweet/attentive/kind/courageous/hairdresser/chef/helicopter-owner with muscle-y arms ... is that really too much to ask for?

What did you do today?: Nothing of much interest, kickass hair aside. My niece had her first holy communion, so we churched it and a big bunch of her people had a loooong croatian dinner afterwards.

So where exactly does the awkwardness kick in?: Ah, well, average sized story there. I was going to say long but it isn't. Well, it will be if I babble ... so I'll skip to the point now. My brother and sis-in-law hired a mini reception room and there were three tables there, summarised thus:
Table One: Kids (2-10 yr olds)
Table Two: Adults, aka married with children.
Table Three: Old Fogies (aka, my parents)
Meanwhile, which category does a seventeen year old girl fit into there? Exactly. Which led to married with children-ville, thank you very much.

Consequential lowlights of the evening:
Being asked about the HSC fifty billion times - Yup, HSC this year. Yup, three more exams. Uhunh, three. This many fingers. Yup, three.
Making small talk - Or more like trying to and failing. Well, truthfully I can't even reciprocate small talk. This is from the girl who meets a popstar in a dream and can only think to say "So, you sing, hunh?"
Being asked questions and answering in babbleage - These adult people don't seem to realise I need a good 20 mins to form a coherent answer. Dijana asked me if I go nightclubbing yet and I'm like .. uh, no ... not really ... kinda studying right now (liar!) ... just kind of started right now.
Dijana: Oh, where do you go?
Me: Um, we don't really do that, we more go out to dinner kind of thing...
Dijana: Oh! Why?
Me: I, uh ... don't know.
Much stuffing of face - I'm not sure if any of you reading have been put into this situation ever, but I find that when I'm around people who I have to make small talk with, I'll eat just so no one really notices that no one is talking to me and has to have a pity conversation with me. Meanwhile, I think I now fully understand why I was such a fat lil kid. I wish I could be one of these people who can just slide into any social situation and just fit. What's the word I want, some kind of non-loser? Yes indeed, I would much like to be a non-loser.
Those initial "whoa, you've grown up" conversations - You know the ones, the crap-she's-grown-up-oh-my-doesn't-time-fly? Only now with the added newness of crap-you've-lost-weight. Heh. Meanwhile my brother's in-laws called me beautiful. So ... something. I was looking at Dijana's 8-month-old baby Tihana, and her mother-in-law (aka my brother's m-i-l) said "yeah, she's like 10 kgs now" which made me go (in my head) crap, I've lost 10kgs! I lost an eight month old baby!
Having to nod and laugh at conversations and anecdotes that went over my head: Such as Dijana's breastfeeding issues, because I am of course a font of knowledge there. A font? As in, type of lettering? No ... well you know what I'm getting at.

Unrelated lowlights of the evening: Meanwhile, there was a guy my age seated at the old fogies table with his parents (don't ask me why, it's like a thing) and I kept getting "hey, we'll introduce you to him later" from people ... the most horrible threat imaginable, I don't ever EVER want to be set up!! Meanwhile, I spent the next few hours trying to telepathically message my friends into calling me, and am currently annoyed that no one had their psychic vibes on to answer my plea of "help help help! They're going to set me up and I'm going to DIE! Help!" Grrr.

Comparative highlights:
Well there was food ... : I did mention it was a croatian dinner right? Which means, entrees-->three courses-->fruit-->assorted cakes with coffee-->more cake. Mmmmm, food.
Watching the children play: Varied from watching the 8 month old Tihana do a little aided dance on her mother's lap; watching five yr old Mark break dance; his older sister Monica cartwheel; and another lil boy wrap himself up in a curtain. Whadya mean, WHY?! Looked pretty fun from where I was sitting.

Residual thoughts: I need to get me a baby. Anyone offering to help with that? *listens to the silence* Heh, yeah. Slight frustration at my lack of fitting places. First there's the boyfriend club at school to which I'll never be a part of (due to my long standing invitation to the nun club) and now here's the adult club which I know I'll never fully be let into unless I can whine about the habits of my children. It's like I can't be a grown-up because I'll make the grown-ups feel really old. Urgh, it's an irksome situation. Much and entirely of the irk.

Most important lesson of the day: Car makeup = Clown makeup.

Well, least you had kickass hair going: Yeah. Next goal? "Fingernails that shine like justice"


<< >>