who needs shelter from the sun? not me, no, not anyone
2003-10-28 - 9:06 p.m.

I learned two things today:

According to the phenomonological perspective of personality psychology, you are not responsible for things that happen to you, but you are responsible for the way you react to them.

So basically, tough cookies if you've had a rough deal, get over it.

I like it for it's harshness but I disagree as to whether you can help it, not always at least. I try to help it, I do, and usually I manage, but sometimes I don't, and I don't think that there's anything wrong with that.

Basically I think that people who aren't messed up at least once in awhile, are really messed up. Abnormal is the new normal, and in comparison to the aforementioned persons, I could ride a float in the normal parade.

Two: brightness refers to the percieved luminance of an object, which is dependent on it's reflectance and the illumination of the environment.

Pretty sounding, isn't it.

Even though it's context is actually in how the visual system works, my head automatically recontextualises it into an explanation for why I've found this year so difficult, academically speaking.

Not, as my previously popular theory dictates, because I have grown significantly more stupid ... although there is a whoooole lot of supporting evidence for that one.

When I was younger, people used to say that I was bright, but I'm not so much anymore.

This year especially has been, as anyone who's read the entries from March til now, pretty dark. Not that I'm complaining, tough cookies and all, but this severe lack of light means that I have had none to reflect. So that even when a little does get thrown my way, I absorb it and can't give any back.

This explains my search for that certain something - I'm looking for light. And though sometimes I try to settle with the artificial variety, I know it will never ever suffice.

It also explains my admiration for all things shiny, as they reflect the light they get in a way I envy.

Okay, so my take on this is a little Freudian (no, I'm not obsessed with penises, so don't go there) in so much as, though it sounds good at the time of saying and makes sense to me, it is so not psychologically valid, so no one who chances to read it should think "wow that's good psychology" because it isn't at all, it's pop psychology at best, and pop psychology is very crap, even some actual psychology is still a bit suss.

What I like about my light metaphor is, even though I'm not getting enough light I can still do things that bright people would do, like twist a fact around until it's relevant to them in order to remember it better.

So that's my tip on studying shortcuts (though I'm not intellectually qualified to give any, I still will because I shortcut far too often and still have usually done relatively well), if you want to really remember it, make it mean something to you.

And that doesn't have to be in a smarty-pants way, I still remember putting something I had to learn for history back in the day (highschool) to some crap Britney Spears song. After repeating it a few times it stuck in my head like very annoying glue.

Is it ironic that I give studying tips while procrastinating? Or just stupid, as a result of my being particularly dim at the moment ... the moment stretching out to cover the past eight months.


<< >>