electric shivers cross my skin, it's like a fever, and you're my only medicine
2005-04-14 - 8:38 p.m.

"Sorry Mom, I've decided to save my love for someone who's guaranteed not to reject me ... soon, Corey, soon." Lisa Simpson

*****

This
is not
a poem.

In English we are learning
to experiment. Forgive
my case of the stilts.

Today I saw a bird's
remains
hanging
from barbed wire.

How
did it get
so tangled? And
why
did life
end there?

I almost wanted to
gently
take it down. Let it
rest.

But I
kept walking
glad
the hollow
feathered
lifeless mass
was not
me.

Was it.

*****

I start work at 6 tomorrow. Tell me I like money better than sleep? Tell me I like my hands becoming coarse from the heat more than I like them melted butter soft, never-worked-hard-a-day-in-her-life, "all the better to touch you with, my dear"?

On the bright side, I think in like year 11, one of my fondest dreams was to know how to make coffee. And now I'm learning it. Thus technically achieving a dream ... wheeee! I like knowing how to do productive things.

*****

hungry. behind. messy. blahblah. L. not much changes exactly.

*****

"And a funeral director accused of cremating the wrong body, and covering it up, with another."
Sandra Sully



<< >>