Proven thriftiness and mormon eerieness
2002-12-23 - 4:24 p.m.

I'm feeling good... turns out a tonne of ice cream can make for a whole two-day high.

Guess what! I went to my 9am maths lecture for the first time in approximately two months! Of course it was terribly boring and spent whole time passing notes to Colleen re: smart guy and his wearing of green/her upcoming froggy dissection. But that doesn't matter, the point is I was there and that was definitely progress in a twisted mini kind of way.

And, wait for this, last night I actually attempted today's maths homework. I did just over half of it, a half I'm very proud of even though I had to shower thoroughly afterwards because just felt like "eeeew, maths, get it off!"

Am feeling supergood about myself today because was whining about wanting to go to thrift store yesterday and today, rather than sitting back and whining some more (as per usual) I just went.

Am happy to report have new outfit (top, skirt, shoes) which set me back all of $15. Ahah! Knew I could do this thrift thing... was aiming for more of a scruffy boho look but came back with surprisingly girly outfit.

But am happy so all is well. Got the bus home and walked to my gate to find church-of-latter-day-saints-type people at my door. Damn my timing, if I had been a minute later or earlier I could have missed/avoided them. But no, they caught me on my way in so I was obliged to make small talk... along the lines of where I'd been (uni) what I was studying (arts) what they were doing here (introducing themselves) and was I busy? (yes...study) later?(yes...mooncake festival) oh is that jewish? (really no) can we drop by later in the week and see if you're in? (uh. yeah sure you do that then)

Damnit. Do you have any idea how hard it is to make like you're going somewhere when you're so obviously just going inside? And also now I have to hideout from them for the rest of the week or so. Actually have seen those specific ones stalking around my area many times so who really knows for how long.

Argh! The mormons know where I live!

It wouldn't be so bad but I'm in enforced niceness and can't turn them away and just say "Look, I have a life, religion bah... maybe when I'm old and dying I'll repent, so why don't you come back then?"

Aw, cheap shot at religion. I literally looked up at my ceiling and just said "Aw, sorry god..."

Maybe you could come and stay here for a week/so. I mean, you've always wanted to meet Mormons, and now when you answer the door they won't be able to avoid meeting you. Plus, one of them was a redhead and particularly geeky, which I think would make you go 'Aw!'. And the other one had a particularly loud tie and on occasions when they asked me questions I may have accidently answered the tie, so loud/attention grabbing was it.

Too much time talking about Mormons, I know. I have soca work to do and a life to fret over so I guess I'll leave you to it.

I want a sash and some long gloves...


<< >>