Everybody gets out before they get hit....
2002-03-15 - 3:58 p.m.

[I let it rain on me...]

I'm back ... Last night just as I hit 'done!' a third roach appeared. You can't see the expression of disgust on my face right now as I think about it, but trust me, it's there.

So, um, stuff. Uni is fine. I have managed to fall behind in three of my classes already but eh ... I'll catch up any day now maybe.

Here, work ethic work ethic work ethic...

Psych is fine but less interesting since another lecturer took over. Linguistics is reasonably interesting as we have just started learning phonetics which basically right now means saying different words and observing what our tongues and vocal cords do to create them ...

It's a good thing the walls are thick for that room as anyone walking by would hear people going "eeeeee, aaaaaaa" ...

Sociology has been difficult to get into but now that we're looking at suicide things are starting to perk up...

Philosophy is totally the worst. Not because the reading is terribly thick ( Descartes', damnit ... remember the I think therefore I am guy? Yeah...) but because tutorials are filled with intelligent people.

And when I say intelligent, I don't just mean above average I mean you actually find yourself trying to see whether there is some enormous book on their lap from which they are reading their comments from.

There are too many intelligent thoughts in that room! There should be a strict ratio of smartness and since dumbness is so lacking I find myself sitting in the corner with Lauren, staring out the window and bitching about what people are saying.

So to sum up, uni can be considered equivalent to fine. I don't really have any good friends yet ... but I don't particularly mind. I do miss the antics of my other friends - in particularly Helen's figuring out things a year later, Vyv's doodling on other people's hands, Shelley's ... well let's call it activities with Shelley (eating forbidden cheesecake ... boat racing in moat), activities with Alex (long chats in frees, listmaking, singalongs where applicable) ... list goes on.

I vow to contribute to Shelley's i-want-to-be-a-star fund if this company of mine ever gets around to paying me for all this training I've been doing (now they're saying next wednesday, dear god! Me want money now!). Incase you haven't heard, Shelley is landing a modelling gig (oh, sophisticated sounding) and was surprised to find out she was pretty ... to which I really have to add goddamn fucking duh!

I feel better now. By way of apology I must insist you send her all your money now.

And also, while you're at it, support Vyv by telling her to go snog a stranger. Go on ...

This entry is already uncharacteristically long for me and I still want to talk about work. I am well on the way to becoming a fully fledged checkout chick!

Woo-hoo, menial labour!

...That was meant to be sarcastic but actually was just plain excited. Oops. Scan scan scan, bag bag bag, money money money. It's fun! They pay me to smile and be nice to people and in turn I am smiled at and niced at back.

I still find it a little daunting but I guess I'll get used to it. It's surprisingly harder than it looks from the other side of the checkout ... it involves thinking! Damnit. But I still like.

I like being around people ... so many different kinds. What I can tell you from the past few days training is that there are far more cats and gay couples in Broadway than suburbia.

I nearly burst into tears in the aisles yesterday for absolutely no reason ... I was probably just pms-y. The staff are all so nice there. From Alfred (the 3rd boss down the hierarchy - who jokes around a lot, and although is "up with management" he also claims to be "down with his staff") to Milly (in charge of training) to Jan (Supervisor kinda lady, who asked how I was going and corrected my mistakes without being mean about it) to operators like Christina (who's really good at teaching) and Bleine (who was so nice, and has such a pretty name!)...

And yesterday three people told me what a pretty name I had, with no tones of sarcasm in their voice - and said with actual feeling! I for one was impressed/flattered.

Speaking of people, guess who I ran into in the store today without actually running into. That's right, the guys from induction. I think I had this look on my face that was like "What are YOU doing here?!" which is entirely stupid because I knew, but was actually more of "What the hell am I supposed to say now, remember me, the insane checkout chick wannabe from induction?!" ... Anyway, they said hi and smiled like they were glad to see me again... *quiet melt melt* but then I had to train and didn't see them again ... pout.

But I was happy to see them, possibly merely because I am having a surprisingly good (curly mess again) hair day and it feels less wasted now ... plus now I am giving the impression I have this hair all the time! heh. This entry is gonna be too long so I'm ending it ... now.


<< >>