I'm full of artificial sweetener
2002-02-20 - 1:31 p.m.

So who's been watching (Australian) Popstars? I'm not ashamed (but proud neither) to admit that I have.

Let's face it, the show has basic train wreck appeal - you can't seem to look away, no matter how hard you've been trying to change the channel.

And sure, you may be watching to observe someone's dreams be fulfilled but I am watching to see hundreds of other people's dreams be trampled and pushed aside.

Ooooh, I think I'm a sadist now.

Meanwhile, any bets on who's going to win so far? Personally I like:

- The model guy who has already written like 50 songs because he's pretty much a shoe-in (a shoe in? how can that possibly be an expression?)

- The guy who did a cover of Bush's Glycerine, because (i) I like that song (ii) He was kinda cute, and (iii) they showed him working out, kicking stuff. How can you not love a guy who kicks stuff?

- And finally, the guy with dredlocks because I liked his voice and he was so far from the conventional image of popstardom. And plus I like dredlocks ... probably cos they're something I can't have, according to Shelley anyways ...

And yeah, my bets are all on guys because I theorise most of the popstar audience are probably female and therefore far more likely to vote for eye candy.

Enough talking about crap televison, let's talk about Jerry Springer instead.

Heh heh.

I was watching it this morning, and I fail to understand how people brought on the show can be so ... nonpessimistic about it. I mean, when your partner brings you on Jerry Springer you should really be preparing yourself for the worst - okay, Ricki Lake might go fine and if it was Oprah you'd have nothing to worry about but Jerry Springer? How can you not know you're screwed?

And wow. Look, an entire entry of crap - sadly not a first.


<< >>