And it was all, yellow.
2001-12-26 - 6:05 p.m.

Boxing Day ... Day of boxing, whatever that means.

My annual day of eating Christmas leftovers and thoroughly examining my gifts.

The sky is still weird. The bush fires are still going, I suppose. I think the sun if notably less red, if anything ...

I'm glad we live by the coast, although the air is rather clogged here ... not as bad as at my brother's house yesterday. We walked outside of the house and you couldn't see the skyline, it was all yellow ... with a red sun and charred leaves falling from the sky.

For a while I thought it seemed rather apocalyptic. Then I reproached myself for attributing meaning to the meaningless (Have I learned nothing from Stoppard? Apparently) ... and then I thought to myself, if I were the apocalypse, I wouldn't be such a drama queen about it, because it would be far more dramatic to just bring it all on with no warning whatsoever.

And then I wondered who I was kidding, I am a drama queen, even now, and I would continue to be one, even in apocalyptic form.

So earthquakes, fires, volcanic eruptions and tidal waves, bring it all on...

Speaking of drama queens, my mother could not bring herself to stop whining, not even on Christmas. Backseat driver, backseat cooker, backseat everythinger ... Forcing me to chastise her in the most harsh tones and words I know ... and she giggles at me like a schoolgirl caught out.

My niece and nephew were the highlights of the day. The only smart thing my mother said that day - "Christmas is for the children," which, okay, wasn't wholly accurate but there were degrees of truth in there.

My niece ages before her time. Well perhaps not, but it seems like yesterday I was playing peekaboo and now here we are discussing our favourite shades of nailpolish.

There is nothing as worthwhile as a conversation about the trivial with someone you care about...

And then there is my nephew, such a "maza" ... don't know how to translate that word effectively. Can make a friend anywhere, at any place. Is more skilled at that than me. And such an affection craving boy ... yesterday we're sitting in thirty five degree (celsius) heat and he wants to cuddle. I couldn't help but look at him and think, girls are going to adore him...

Back to the leftovers for now.


<< >>