we won't speak for anything
2002-12-20 - 6:10 p.m.

Am struggling with attempting to re-enroll in uni. If you don't hear from me for ages after this update you will know I've killed this machine in a fit of computer rage.

I don't have a free day until... Next Monday. The fault of Christmas and consumers who want to purchase things from my place of employment (who do they think they are?? Like they can just walk in and buy stuff and make me wait on them? Hrumph), and to a lesser extent some people related to me who are getting married tomorrow. Well, one person is related, the other is obviously not. Still, I blame them all the same and am quietly hoping the groom does something stupid and there will be no wedding tomorrow.

Anything to get me out of the hideous awkwardness that is spending time with my "relatives" (so termed because if my parents didn't actively promote the familial connections I wouldn't know them from dirt... and hey, to a degree I don't)...

Today at work was exciting because they gave me a key. Can you guess what that key was for? Yes, that's right, after nearly 10 months of employment they FINALLY gave me a locker.

Typical. Just as I'm on a possible verge of leaving, they decide to make it harder. Still, no more being mobile-phoneless, no more having to arrange afterwork outings with difficulty. My stuff will have a home! huzzah...

Also weirdness at work was me serving Mrs Marsh, the woman who "taught" (note loose usage of the word) me art for some amount of time in the early years of high school.

I was hoping she wouldn't recognise me (I've lost weight, I have different hair) but unfortunately passing her around the school for the last 6 years rendered these differences ineffective. The scene:

Mrs Marsh: "You went to St. Clare's didn't you?"
Me: (Yes, you taught me art there, you were a bloody big cow) "...Uh-hunh,"

That was my day, basically. After work I went grocery shopping with parentals. We went in the van. Not a wise move, the enclosed space for us is the equivalent of throwing three cats in a bag.

We bought a Christmas tree. It smells purdeh. Tonight will be spent decorating it, wrapping more presents, writing those damn cards, trying to enroll some more, and stressing over what tomorrow will bring.

Hope you are faring better.


<< >>