First rains of the summer
2002-01-07 - 1:23 p.m.

It rained last night ... or was it this morning? I can't remember now but I do hope it eased the bush fire situation.

I spent last night in bed with Ben Elton. Rather good author ... he has some killer lines, and the major plot twists aren't particularly foreseeable.

Now I'm reading HTML for dummies. I have just gotten past the introduction and am very pleased to note that I am not lost yet.

You know how some people hover in front of the mirror, anxiously checking their head for grey hairs? I caught myself doing that last night. Except I was checking for blonde hairs. Since it's summer, I'm terrified that the sun will give me blondeness. It really shouldn't, since my hair is really a relatively dark brown. But still ...

I keep missing Alex's calls. But I haven't called her back yet, because I'm trying to use it as a bribe to clean my room.

That's right, I'm trying to bribe myself into doing it. Next I will threaten. I've already sternly told myself that there will be no going out until it's cleaned.

Apparently self is happier to stay in and live in sty than clean it and go out.

The cleaning process is just so daunting. Because nothing has a place, so everything must be moved. And I have to go through every scrap of paper and decide whether it's to be kept or thrown out. And for a sentimental person who keeps all the miscellaneous stuff (ticket stubbs, blah) this is a very difficult process.

... Not sure I should share this with you, since periods are so not a subject accepted by society.

Aw, hell. I already said the 'p' word, so if you're squeamish just don't read on. Pretend that this is the ending, and that I have just said something particularly amusing about .... phallic symbols!

...

...

...

Right, I think they're gone now, off to smirk at penis-shaped things.

Am no longer premenstrual! Never ever been this glad to see blood before. Okay, whoever read this far can probably not see the joy in it, so feel free to scrunch up your face and go "Ew, you so did not need to tell me that," and leave.

Because actually, I'm done now.


<< >>