I was not the answer so forget you ever thought it was me
2002-07-03 - 3:31 p.m.

Have had a relapse into serious ook, a combination of general illness and overwhelming tiredness.

I don't know how I've been doing the work/uni/out thing all semester without crashing until now.

Do you smell something burning? Oh wait, that's just me all terribly burnt-out.

Yesterday's main highlight of the day was watching Passions. Today's was washing my hair. Go me! I actually stood up for some amount of time while showering without falling over.

Always an achievement.

Important Upcoming Dates:
5th July: Stalker family visits out of state for a fortnight. Can finally breathe out for a while. Also 3u reunion at tracy lady's house. Hum.
9th July: Highschool group reunion type thing, vids and food day. Not that we haven't been keeping in touch, but we haven't all been together since like January.
10th July: My Cherrypickers CD arrives in the mail, in theory and hopefully practice.
18th July: Uni results come in. Eeep. Also ought to decide which science to do next semester (if, y'know, there is another semester for me). Should I do Philosophy, despite it boring the crap out of me? Or computer science, because I already know all the stuff the course aims to teach so it should be beyond a breeze, but it's like 5/6 hrs per week compared to 3hr philosophy? Or maths, despite hating it, because there I will have Colleen? Tough calls.
19th July: Stalker family returns. Eeep.

So holidays mean I will be keeping busy, despite really wanting to live on the couch and never, ever get up, like I've been doing the past few days...

Also need to fit in babysitting for niece and nephew for a few days and getting learner's license somewhere. Sigh.
Past few days I've survived on reading, tv and music. And a little food and water, of course.

Yes, you heard me, reading! Turns out I have not forgotten how after all this time. Read a book by co-writer of There's Something About Mary. Not bad but not my style. Also currently reading Elvis, Jesus, and Coca-cola (or is it Jesus, Elvis and Coca-cola? I forget) because really couldn't go past the title and felt it was about time I read some Kinky (Friedman).

Am also reading Carnevale, *insertlaughter*. Story of Cecilia and her relationship with Casanova and later Lord Byron. Ah, there's this one part just after Cecilia and Casanova have had sex and Cecilia starts to do it again but Casanova is like "not yet," and his reason? Because "his steed is currently resting in his stable,"

Everytime I reread that line I have to put the book down just to still the laughter. I love metaphors...

TV wise have relied on Buffy, Rove, and the antics of John Saffran and the Life Support team to keep my mind relatively blank but happy.

Music wise I can't sleep til I've listened to Fiona Apple's "When the pawn..." I have much love for Fiona Apple, especially as of late. Basically all her songs on that cd relate to
(a) Relationships she wants that can't happen
(b) Relationships she doesn't want that are happening
(c) Generally being messed up.

I feel a bond with her for these reasons. Plus, in terms of being lyrically concise she kicks ass.

Do I wanna do right, of course but
Do I really wanna feel I�m forced to
Answer you, hell no
I�ve acquired quite a taste
For a well-made mistake, I wanna
Make a mistake, why can�t I make a mistake
I�m always doing what I think I should
Almost always doing everybody good
Why

As well as, she doesn't use guitars much in songs making me go "Hey, what's that instrument? ... Oh my god, it's a piano!" Although guitars rock there is definitely a pronounced lack of piano in modern music.

But enough fiona-love. I'm sure I lost you all after "relapse".


<< >>