Pick me up and put me down ...
2002-03-30 - 8:57 p.m.

[Show me that love is worth the wait]

Having a case of chronic goosebumps, dang it's cold. Do geese actually have these bumps? Probably not, damn life's little idiosyncracies.

Home after working for five hours - without a break mind you, which is fairly illegal but wah, I didn't need a break and besides we were damn busy. Working the express lane again ... except this time at the front.

There were some curious purchases but I always forget ... I always notice when someone buys condoms. Lately condoms and chocolate seem to be popular ... I'm not going to think into that and I suggest you don't either.

Lots of cute old people today ... and a few sadder ones, who had come into buy one item only and I couldn't help but wonder why they had nothing better to be doing today, no family to share the holiday with...

The lonely are sad. Not in the pathetic way, I mean in the way they make you pause and feel sorrow. I do, at any rate.

I worked beside a girl called Claire today, she's one of the perkiest ... although we do have a lot of perky checkout chicks (sidenote: what's the male form of checkout chick? checkout dick? Because that sounds more like an expression or some kind of fast-hire detective). We finished together and afterwards we went shopping in the store together ... which I found pretty amusing because we were wandering around going "I wonder where the olives are? Oh, let's put this back ... wait, where did we get it from again?"

Shush, so it turns out that I am merely a personification of a clueless checkout chick, a two dimensional thing with no substance behind her.

Listening to vehement love songs makes me feel dire. If that's even feelable at all ... I am currently groping dire, if you can imagine, but please don't.

Guitars make men instantaneously wanted, is a point Shelley had made. I'd like to add to this list: self-confidence can also do wonders ... Like there's a guy who works above me (in the lil supermarket hierarchy I am only beginning to grasp) who I find entirely unattractive (eyebrows need some serious shaping ... and urgh, bleach blonde tips *shudder*) but who has this impressive amount of self-confidence (falls just before the line that crosses into arrogance) which alone makes me do bad puppy dog eyes at him ...

I'm a little parentheses obsessed today, are you getting that? My life is just one of those "asides", preferably Shakespeare's but sadly more reminiscent of those on The Bold and The Beautiful ... without the cast's stunning good looks.

The day before yesterday I got badly hit on at work ... I was working the 3rd register on the express lane, which meant I had to keep calling people in the line out to me because they never noticed when I was done. Anyway, here's a transcript of events...

Me: *waves customer over*
Customer: You made me come with just one finger
Me: Uh ... *polite smile while thinking "Ew, ew, ew, ew..."*
Customer: Wow, I haven't used that in like forty years (customer clearly isn't forty, more like mid - late twenties)
Me: Glad to hear it! *accidently voiced in a tone that said she was glad to hear the line ... when she meant she was glad to hear he hadn't used it for such a long time*
Customer: *makes eyes at Babs*
Me: *avoids eye contact, pretends to be very involved in scanning*
Customer: *leans over counter and looks at Babs' shoes*
Me: *confused look back*
Customer: I thought you were wearing higher shoes ... You're tall *tone of appraisal*
Me: No ... uh ... it runs in the family *tone of bewilderment, as in "Why am I telling him this anyway?!"*
Customer: Do you play basketball?
Me: Hah, no.
Customer: Netball?
Me: No. I'm not *looks down to avoid seeing his expression* ... athletic. *begins to hand over change*
Customer: *struggles with change, half holding Babs' hand as she is trying to part with change* Thanks ... I'll see you later *tone of meaning*
Me: Bye! *polite tone as customer exits ... followed by some cringing and saying "Ew!" to myself repeatedly*

Wow that had length. I think I'm ending it there now ... only to add, guess who I not so accidently got in touch with? I know, my total bad here. More later.


<< >>