never had so much fun
2003-11-08 - 3:18 p.m.

Yesterday proved to be an extremely long/crazy day, if you're interested in it I suggest you sit down and make yourself comfortable, maybe get a snack first, because this is gonna be long baby.

Well, maybe. I sound obsessed with length, but I'm not that kind of girl, honestly. It's quality over quantity, except my quality's usually worse than my quantity, so um... run, run away now.

Friday

3 am After completing the assignments due in today (well, 2 out of 3 anyway, and that, according to the saying, ain't bad), I stumble into bed.

9.20 am My mother wakes me asking why I'm not awake yet. It turns out that although I set my alarm, I wasn't bright enough to actually turn it on.

10 am I make it to uni on time for my first class. Smart guy (the penultimate crush boy) is holding a copy of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, one of my absolute favourite plays ever, causing me to wonder if he actually is bizarro me (but he's the better version).

11 am In order to finish one of my assignments I have to draw a graph, but I am so braindead that I can't remember how to use excel or spss or any computer program; I end up drawing it in paint.

12.20 pm I rock up late to my psych lecture.

1 pm I hand in my assignments and pick up one to find that I surprisingly kicked arse in it, (even though I handed it in a day late) unlike most people in my course. Typical Babs "do my worst, yet get annoyingly good mark" behaviour.

2 pm I go shopping. Scarily, some boy I've never seen before recognises me as having gone to my highschool. This freaked me out, since I like to think I've changed since then (you know... smarter, prettier, funnier... or at least thinner;) and that someone who I've never met could still recognise me like that was just depressing.

4 pm It dawns on me that I haven't eaten yet today, so I do that and feel better. Food has always been a comfort thing, in fact in highschool I was on occassion known to dance with the odd sandwich, ah the crazy days of long lost youth.... Now I'm 19 I'm no longer considered hip; I used to be with it but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's it seems weird and scary.

4.30 pm I catch an episode of The Bold and The Beautiful. Seeing that in their twisted, in-bred little family there are two children who are half-brother/half-sister AND half-aunt/half-nephew makes me feel strangely good about my life.

The next few hours involve me getting ready for going out and meeting up with people, and then...

9 pm In honour/spite of the crappy, crappy year 2003 has been and continues to be, Shelley and I decide to be mature, and take the adult approach to our problems: drink a whole lot.

9.30 pm We chat with Rai, lead singer of Thirsty Merc, sweet guy. We learn that they're not going to have anymore gigs until March (noooooooo!) because they'll be busy making their album (hurrah!).

Also, people did drugs in the bathroom! Shelley and I entered and were speaking of something when a sudden lull in music from upstairs meant we could hear a guy's voice in one of the stalls.

"Are we in the right bathroom?!"
"I don't know! Are we?" *we check, and are*
*from stall* "You do it in lines, not piles ... ladies first,"
*snort snort snort snort snort*
*3 guys and a girl exit the tiny stall as if it were a clown car*

It was so funny and cliched; it put the drugs in "sex, drugs, and rock&roll" (while Merc put the rock in, and the first one just remained absent).

10 pm...ish Thirsty Merc rock the casbah. We bop around like crazy people while watching the guy in front of us 'dance' (it was more a scarily suggestive thrusting of the hips) in alarm.

During the very pretty song "Someday, Someday" both Shelley and I seperately observe Colledo and her ex-boy holding hands, in spite of all Colledo's prior "just friends" protests. We start to plan her hens night, so far we're thinking a team of strippers dressed as the village people. Muahaha.

The lovely Cinta also shows up towards the end of the gig and dances with us. We scream for encore and they play Katie Q. Rai forgets some words in the middle, and I realise I've watched the clip far far too many times as I know the words he's forgotten.

12.30 am Colledo and boy left, as do we, but we decide to move onto greener pastures, whatever that means.... I mean who does that anyway, it sounds like a cow thing. Because they live in pastures and they don't come home until late and it really makes you wonder, what's going on with cows.

Anyway, we headed to trinity bar, cracking ourselves up by quoting zoolander as we went:
There has got to be more to life than just being really, really, really, ridiculously good-looking
The zoolander center for kids who can't read good... How can we be expected to teach children to learn how to read if they can't even fit inside the building?!


At trinity, we converse and decide to go to a gay bar, since neither me nor shelley have been before (and this way we have something to think of when we hear that song "I wanna take you to a gay bar! Gay bar!"). On the way we stop to chat to some guys and mention where we're heading - they assume we're gay and try to convince us to kiss. American Pie 2 style, we say they have to kiss first. Let's just say, the conversation got grosser after that point and after some eww-ing we left.

1.00 am We go to Oxford street, and hang out in a bar I think is called Coloumbian House...

"You know, I thought it'd be... gayer,"

"Hey babs, that guy over there is checking you out!"
"Oh great, he thinks I'm a man,"

"You know, I think I'm a bit drunk... I just had the thought, wouldn't it be funny if we WERE men?"

"I wish my hair would be bigger, it's gone down,"
"You need it to just go, pouf!"
"You said pouf!"

Which reminds me, there were guys in the girls bathroom, I was so surprised at first I nearly followed Shelley into a cubicle.

1.30 am...? We move on to the Orient, where we drink and dance more. Memorable events include cinta dancing with a shirtless bloke, and while dancing becoming surrounded by guys as if we were prey - a metaphor made less metaphory when one particularly scary guy kept sniffing us. Yes, sniffing. Shelley and I also kissed some guy simultaneously on the cheek as a favour to his friend, as some guy had apparently just turned 18. Or so they said. Maybe we're just hot, good-smelling girls, I don't know.

Vyvyan called Shelley's mobile and when I got handed the phone for a second I thought she was my mother, maybe I was more drunk at that point than I realised. My mother did happen to call a few minutes later, stressing out because in her mind daughters who are out past 2am have been murdered/raped/pillaged. "No, I'll be home soon, we're just at a ... cafe ... because we're hungry... after all the studying we did... at the library..." After hanging around and dancing to some more songs at the "cafe", we head home.

3.30 am I pretend I am sober and non-light headed in front of my mother. Surprisingly I bump into less things than when I am actually sober (probably because I'm normally a klutz). In the bathroom, I am alarmed to find out my tongue is blue and I can't for the life of me figure out why (I just realised as I typed that it was because we had blackberry lollies in the cab ... I am incredibly stupid!) and then I happily crawled into bed.

And that was my day. Proof that once, for about 24hrs, I had something closely resembling a life. I woke up at 11.30 am, feeling fine except still light headed, and stayed in bed until 2.30pm.

Now that I'm officially out of things to say ... how was your day?


<< >>