until the sunlight slips away this time
2003-04-05 - 1:18 p.m.

I can't feel my fingers but they appear to be hitting keys so that's okay then.

I have this snow globe in my room with pictures of people I know in it. Last night I spent an hour shaking it and watching the glitter and the snowflakes fall. I like the pictures in it, Alex has her eyes closed and it looks as if she is watching the snow, her hair is curly and crazy but cool as always, in the front there is a pretty strand of her hair that's blonder than the rest. It reminds me of her, not because it's hers (duh) but by the way it stands out.

And then there's a picture of Shelley from that night of general incredible boredom, our year twelve formal. Frozen in time her image looks poised and graceful, a bit far from the comically heroic stylings of her life but not as far as you would think. She doesn't look at the camera but past it, you can tell she sees things most mere mortals would miss.

Bonus points for alliteration! Go me, go me.

I'm in the pictures too but I have nothing to say on that score. In one I look almost confident (so very far from the truth) and in the other I look like a hippopotamus (sadly not so very far from the truth).

I don't know where I'm going, which is why I like to shake it up. The snow globe, not life I mean. Watch the little storm swirl prettily around us. It settles quickly so I shake it again (and again and again and again...), it's comforting somehow. No matter how much I shake it nothing changes in there.

I wish life would promise me some similar constancy but I know it can't. But it doesn't matter, I'm happy enough just watching the glitter sparkle in there.

I've yet to figure out the way to make things sparkle out here. Maybe if I shake it one more time...


<< >>