Looking for a space
2002-07-30 - 4:05 p.m.

I hate that underlying feeling of mutual inadequacy that's been going on in my head the last day or so, but anyway...

I had my first sociology lecture today, and it rocked educationally hardcore.

At first I was all wary of it because the thing I learned most from my sociology course last term is that clancy auditorium is really, really freezing in the morning.

But this course is on relationships and we have lecture topics on things like "Meeting" and "Seperation and Connection" and "Eternity" and we have to keep a workbook where we discuss everything vaguely related to class and there are no wrong answers and tutorials are considered a time where students gather with a tutor and just have a coffee and chat...

Needless to say, this is such a me-course that it's already won a place in my heart. It reminds me so much of 4u english in a way, so that I have the urge to call highschool english teacher and say "I get to keep a 4u english-type journal, and I'm this close to actual thinking and learning, huzzah!"

Won't, of course, but urge is there. Also have the urge to rush out and buy educational supplies such as glue. I know I'm scary lame but I like this semi-revival of Babs the pure, the Barbara ever so scholastically inclined.

Only the slightest spark which surely will have dampened by next week so let's not get over-excited. Meanwhile have linguistics tomorrow, yay! I want to see people again, and ling was my kick-arse-iest subject last term which I actually kind of enjoyed, so I'm hoping for a repeat performance.

Also have decided ling will be my main arts major while I'm doing a BA. Yay that! Remind me to declare it to Arts faculty so they know...

I kinda wish I could get a degree in Linguistics, but it would be be so difficult to combine with a psych degree... can you start doing a double degree in the middle of your uni life? Maybe once I've done the psych thing for a while I'll go back to uni and get a ling thing. And then, I could be a...

Psycholinguist! How appropriate would the title of that job be for me...

Anyway, I'm off, I have reading and homework and bright happy eyes.


<< >>