You're my big distraction or biggest companion; I'm falling fast, like an avalanche
2003-11-26 - 4:08 a.m.

4 hours til I have to leave the house and meet my final exam ... and I haven't even opened the book containing my notes yet.

I blame me for that primarily, obviously, but I also blame No Doubt's Return of Saturn and CSI.

I don't even like that damn show! They completely bypass over how often forensic science is uselessly inconclusive. And I hate crime fiction in general, especially it's one dimensional characters, ever since being fed it in giant untolerable doses in high school english.

And yet, I am also annoyed at me some more, for do you know how small the thing is that swayed me? There is an explosion and some girl has injured her hand and some guy takes her hand and softly says "Honey, that doesn't look good."

And it isn't even real but for a second I believe in the underlying sentiment and I clamour for more. But there is none, of course. Reality is nothing like fiction and if it was I couldn't believe it because it would look like fiction; and yet fiction I sometimes believe because I'm not entirely sure that reality doesn't sometimes look like it.

But then show me a place where writing has accurately captured reality without being tainted by the writer and I will show you that you are deluding yourself because you're similarly tainted.

I have no idea what I'm talking about, and if the above is true, then I'm wrong anyway. I think I'm in serious need of a de-taint.


<< >>