you're left here picking up the pieces, but only the truth will set you free
2003-04-18 - 1:11 p.m.

The night before the night before last I dreamed a giant tooth just fell out of my mouth. I asked my father what it meant, as culturally I knew there was some kind of meaning we'd normally attribute to that kind of thing.

I was thinking slash hoping it would mean I'd be coming into some money. I was only a little totally wrong, my father corrected my interpretation - losing a tooth means someone you know is going to die.

Yesterday my mother's cousin died. I'd never met him but I'd known of him my entire life. My mother is coping okay, she does all that anyone knows how to do, she goes on. I know it's all she thinks of though.

Strange to have that dream though. Coincidence, surely, I consciously knew he was dying and could go at any time ... but why did I dream that when I didn't even know what it was meant to mean?

So life keeps spinning, or did I mean the world, no I meant life, it's still spinning it's confusing overlapping little web. And I go on too, puzzled by my assignments, being dragged to church on the premise that it's good friday so I must, and wondering what the right flowers are to send to a family a world away who have just lost their center.


<< >>