you'll take your time, but no one cares
2003-10-18 - 3:36 a.m.

I slept four hours last night, due to assignment being due today. And I didn't even procrastinate this time! My progress was impeded by the evil cold I've had for the past week, meaning I had to do the bulk of the painful tedious assignment from 4pm yesterday to 3am this morning.

Come to think of it, I probably could have gone to the doctor and gotten a certificate proving I was disadvantaged, but I think since I usually disadvantage myself in other non certifiable ways there doesn't seem to be much of a point.

Besides which, I don't really like the whole compensating for being "unfairly disadvantaged" scheme. That might be fine for uni and all but if life throws you lemons, you make lemonade or get out of frying pan!

Or something like that.

I mean, later on ... when your responsibilites are yours alone, you can wave a doctor's certificate or your paper of choice around all you like but no one's going to care. Things won't go out of their way to rearrange themselves around your life. You have to take what you're given and make the best of it, I suppose.

Ah, life. The process in which those living spend the better part of it trying to figure out what they're living for, why they're living, until they aren't anymore.

That's just the way it goes.

Did you know that babies show a preference for looking at attractive faces? Less annoyingly and even more weirdly, did you know that chickens also show a preference for looking at attractive faces?

On the bright side, did you know that the more faces you average together (using computer software) the more attractive the averaged face becomes? So ironically, beauty seems to be about being average.

I've run out of things to say, and time to say it with, there will be munchkins (read: suprisingly tall niece and nephew) attacking me soon.

The well-worn silver lining stipulates that things could always get worse. The trick is not to disagree or ask how.


<< >>