Behold, I am the breadcrumb winner ... Hey don't knock it, you'll need me when we're lost in the forest.
2002-04-05 - 5:50 p.m.


What is your meaning of life?


Oh great, my meaning of life has been simplified into one measly little word - it's just what I always knew I never wanted.

But click the link anyway ... go on, you know you want to ... even if you don't actually want to, your mouse is already pointing so close by you may as well use it! Net people ... obsessed with the mouse clicking the way men are with their genitals.

Or, you know, just not.

I was hypnotised again this morning. I think I am more open to certain types of suggestion than others. I fall for suggestions of my limbs getting heavy, but try to convince me there's a mosquito on my hand and I just don't buy it.

I find it quietly hysterically funny that I am far less gullible under hypnosis than I am as ordinary everyday dumb-blonde-personified-in-a-brunette me.

And tip to people who use hypnosis as a plot device to make characters do embarrassing things - Hypnosis can only make you do things you are willing to do. Real hypnosis, anyway.

And then was work, which I was nearly late for but made it somehow. Not too bad ... I made a few mistakes and Jan was rather bitchy to me about each of them. But she was nice at the beginning and end of my shift, so I'll consider the bitchiness as not meant. Well, not meant to hurt me and make me apologise profusely, as it did.

And I successfully negotiated a shift swap with Milly (who is always nice and fair) ... so yay.

After that I got the bus back to Maroubra, and did some grocery shopping with my mother. Groceries which I paid for, since my mother is the kind of person who goes "I'm going to go shopping now. I don't need anything to do this shopping, not even my wallet," ... forgetful central, basically - which becomes rather tedious and painful when you're dealing with it every second of every day of every week of every month of every year...

And even that slightly repetitive sentence doesn't drum in the annoyingness. But sorry, I'll go on.

Yes, I paid for the shopping and even gave her some cash out. I have morphed into the breadwinner of the family! I'm only kidding ... sadly, on my salary, it's much more like 'breadcrumb winner'.

And before that I went to Shelley's patron store. A patron store, for those of the uninitiated, is one which you frequent because although it has good merchandise it is less well off than other shops. And you can't help but feel bad for it and take to checking on it regularly, and buying stuff more frequently from there than other places.

Well, maybe not regularly ... or frequently. But you get the idea, right?

Anyway, I went in to try on these nice white shirts they had (one was kind of ruffle-y ... like a pirate shirt! Eep! It kinda looked ok ... but eep) because it turns out I am in love with white shirts because white shirts hate me.

I am doomed to a love/hate relationship with my clothing (sigh).

Well maybe not white shirts, all shirts. According to them my breasts are too big for my hips, and so no shirt ever fits me right ... although they do make me feel a bit like Barbie, proportion-wise. All I need now are feet permanently ready for high heels and I'll be set!

No, anyway. I did find this gorgeous blue-black denim twirly skirt that I had to buy. I love the skirt, and I am more than in love with my eftpos card (and also my job for putting money on eftpos card).

Things used to be like "I like this ... but I don't have the money ... and I probably wouldn't wear it ... I don't have things to match it ... I wonder if a parent will give me the money to buy it..."

But now things are as simple as "Want, Take, Have," and for this I would consider marrying my eftpos card if I could.

But then, would I make my eftpos card sign a prenuptial agreement? It has all my money anyway. It'd be crappy if it made me sign the prenup and then we broke up and it got to keep all my money ...

I know, I know, overthought. Look, I'm being quiet ... now.


<< >>