too late to steal the show, long time waiting for the afterglow
2003-03-25 - 11:47 p.m.

Today I realised that on four of my five visits to the hospital I've left in tears, which is strange enough in itself. I mean, the hospital is a good place, it's about helping and trying to make better and such. But it's so confronting, it lays out all the negative possibilities to the point where you're breathing them and they're strangling you.

Still, am resolved to try harder to not let it get to me next time.

Today saw me buckled in and taken for a ride. It started low but for the end there was some soaring, and that was a nice change of pace.

Today I learned that fate can be tempted into delivering you good things, but only if you don't anticipate them. But rely on your instincts some.

I'm being non-specific, I know, but I've been running round here and there since 8am this morning and all this running on about five hours sleep. So you can forgive me that.

The Sydney Premiere of Ned Kelly was a few hours ago. Shelley and I came, stood near the red carpet, screeched for Heath Ledger, etc. typical fan things, it was fun in a circus type way.

Orlando Bloom didn't show but a few C grade Australian stars did... Oh and Naomi Watts spoke to Shelley and I have her autograph, so that was something.

The trickle of red carpet guests slowed down and people got bored and left. I don't know why I wanted to keep standing there despite freezing cold and promises of having cake somewhere but eh, let's call it instinct (momentarily overlooking the fact that the thing I call instinct is wrong 99.9% of the time).

They had some Ned Kelly posters tacked up on the other barriers and we were trying to call over the security guard and make him get us one but he was ignoring our waves and such. The next thing I know, a man and a woman have materialised in front of us on the other side of the barrier, holding two tickets to the premiere and asking us if we want them.

No, NO, SERIOUSLY. Colour us dumbfounded! I practically snatched the ticket from his hands and Shelley asked if she could hug the woman and before she got an answer she went on and did it anyway, which was pretty damn funny, because I've known her seven years and I've seen her hug people about all of never.

And so yes, they gave us their tickets, and after some screeching and running (Some guy tried to stop us because he knew we were from the other side of the barrier, but we merely screamed "we have tickets!!" and waved them frantically) we went, and we saw it, our first premiere ever - one that we were desperately trying to go to, and what do you know, we made it.

And it was cool, the whole thing, but my favourite part was the walking out with the crew and c-grade celebrities, because we got to walk out like "hey, important people over here"... in fact we walked out right behind a kid from "Home and Away", I considered kicking him because it's a pretty appalling show, but I think he had a bodyguard with him so I refrained.

But yeah. Good things can happen. First premiere, definitely not the last if I can help it. And life, as always, is such a freak.

Oh well, at least I have some happy to last me a while.


<< >>