Work's boring but still a yay...and... y'know...stuff
2002-09-14 - 7:55 p.m.

I can't think of an interesting way to start, so instead maybe I should just let any people reading this drop straight into the realm of bore-didly-ordom, a land where you insert crappy-non-words into the middle of words just to take up another syllable just to take up another half-second just to keep you from noticing that you are so bored you want to die.

...mmm...maybe not.

I don't know, die of boredom if you want to, it's a valid lifestyle choice.

Or would that be deathstyle?

Have you noticed the pink&yellow/green&yellow flags all around central and broadway? Apparently it's spring.

I find it funny that the weather only agrees half the time, but hey... I like the flags. Very ... gay, in the double entendre sense of the word.

Guess what the excitement of my day was? I got a name tag at work! Hurrah for me, you hasten to say... well hold on a sec, I'm leaving out the crucial (and rather sad) part about it not actually having my name on it.

Yup, Angie told me to ask Tu for one so I did, but Tu said she'd have to order one for me because they didn't have any with my name on it, so just for today, I'd have to wear this one...

So guess who I was today?
I was Phuong.

Mmmm. Having to work for 5 hrs today I was sure the customers would be at least a little surprised by such a vietnamese name on such an obviously non-vietnamese girl.

But either customers really do pay me no attention whatsoever, or else they're toe-y about being politically correct/racially tolerant. Only two people picked it up! TWO!

The first one saying "Wow, I just read a really good book and the main character's name was phoung... wow," and the second one doing a little forward lean-in and asking "That's not really your name is it?" and I laughed and said no and he laughed and said he knew it, and that he used to be a checkout boy and knew sometimes the only way to entertain yourself is to change names.

Mmmm. Monster of a saturday, when I left lines were back in the aisles... bleurgh.

Other work related news... Former-melty-hair-boy is working saturdays again. Which is good because that means I saw him today. And there was speaking!

Yeah, you know by now not to get over excited there. All I did was get him a price check and later get him bags. But he did say thank you. Which was a mini awww....

Although there feels like there is some weird undercurrent of hostility/suspicion. I think I'm giving out vibes like "Argh! I like you! Damnit!" and in return am getting some consequentially non-trusty vibes.

I might be insane here. It just seems like when he asked me things he wasn't relaxed, because I've seen him relaxed with others and I know that whatever that was was definitely not it.

Mmmm. Worked behind Thu, which was good as we chitchatted. Peter was all nice and stuff because I ordered twenties and he called me up and said he didn't have any, and did I want anything else? I said no and eh, just send the bag back and he laughed. Later he came back with some twenties he'd stolen off someone else, 'specially for me, awww.

People commented on the hair. Well, girls commented on the hair - Kaye, Alice, Desi, Angie... they all liked it so yay.

As I left work I gave Ross back my name tag as he was on the phone and he gave me a conspiratorial wink.

I'm tired but I like my job. That's a good, right?

Motor Ace are playing at Kordomah cafe in Kings Cross. I don't know where it is and Kings Cross is ucky and it's on a Sunday night... but... motor ace *whiney noises*

Miles behind on uni work here, I'm going now to do some psych thing which will secure 2.5 marks. Watch out, you may be called. 'Night!


<< >>