Your eyes show nothing more than a dazed oblivion
2004-10-02 - 5:10 p.m.

Did you ever notice that when you hang out with someone their taste in things starts to rub off on you a bit?

I was hanging with the lovely Cinta earlier and now have the irresistable urge to listen to the Corrs. So listen I shall to those romantic Irish folk.

Speaking of things romantical, I just ditched the boy from the nondate of the last entry. Via MSN, classy hunh? Eh, he knew he had it coming. Did I also mention that I accidentally made out with him? I know, I know "Accidentally?? Babs, what happened, did you FALL on his MOUTH?!"

Anyway, he's fine with it because I said we could still be friends, which in retrospect is probably a lie of the big fat variety. But, I mean, I'm in the business of sparing his feelings because really this whole situation is, as per usual, my fault, and I'm going to avoid additional messing with his emotions at all costs.

He wanted to know why he got ditched, and I told him I had feelings for someone else. Which isn't a lie at all, but perhaps isn't as true as the reason Cinta said I should give ie. "look dude, everyone thinks you're a joke - I will lose ALL street cred if I'm with you!" and definitely isn't as true as the fact that for me it would just be a relationship TO PASS THE TIME WITH...

And I can be a lot of bad things, but that kind of girl I am not.

I feel a bit mixed up about the lying though. While the feelings sparing is all great in the short-term, I think it could have benefitted him in the long-run to have his heart shred up into tiny tiny pieces.

That sounded positively evil, but I refer to the cruel to be kind policy. I mean, how's he going to know that people think certain things of him and that these qualities are detrimental to his social relationships? Like, for example, his uni friends have noticed he's a compulsive liar. I of course wasn't told this til after I'd stuck my tongue down his throat... I really am going to have to start giving all boys psychological tests to determine how psychopathic they are.

Anyway, yes, I was trying to lead to a question but I got sidetracked, so here it is - would you kick him (like, in THE GROIN) while he was down if you thought it was for his own good? I think the important variable is about emotional investment, I had none in him so my carefactor was just about zero, except for the other factor of me being a nice/intelligent-ish girl who thus thinks and cares about these things.

Anyway, you think about it for me, I could use some feedback.

Isn't it funny how I can dedicate almost entire entries to a boy who is meaningless to me, and not even one direct word to one who isn't? It's probably because the former is linear to think about, while the latter is a tangle of thoughts and emotions. But the good kind of tangle, the really really good kind.


<< >>