But you taught me I could change whatever came within these shallow days
2003-12-27 - 1:12 p.m.

I am the train wreck of all lifelessness today, the past few days have seen me working hard though I couldn't tell you why.

Christmas came and went, thankfully. I cooked and generally played hostess for seven, which was not exactly my funnest experience ever. But family liked their gifts, liked the desserts, and I should probably be pleased.

I worked a thirteen hour shift yesterday. There's nothing like boxing day sales to bring out the despicability of human kind. I got moved to the sunglasses and jewellery section, which is where they put me when things get too busy. And there were some really sweet customers, but the entire shift ended on a sour note as I watched three customers argue about their place in the line.

I couldn't believe I was hearing these people argue about having to wait a few more minutes, while I had to been waiting to go home for 13 hours and I wasn't complaining. But I held my tongue and felt ashamed for them, ashamed for our entire species.

You know, we pretty much only have one day, and probably not even, of actually caring about others, and straight after that, it's back to me-me-me. And that makes me feel sick and I wish, I wish this race would destroy itself sooner rather than later.

But never mind. Next time I'll just submit to my lower urges and throw staplers at their heads.


<< >>