this is life on mars, where we all wear scars
2004-01-19 - 11:10 p.m.

So, I got an offer from UAC and have accepted and though I am relieved that I get to tack on an extra year to my studies by moving from arts to science/arts, I am also disheartened, discouraged, all the dis words at having to deal with university admissions all over again.

I like the idea of institutions, organisation rather than chaos, but let's face it, they're screwy. They deny thousands of people education, and the ones they do deliver to ain't exactly top quality. I've been studying for two years and I still use the word ain't.

And for some reason they demand a $250 deposit for holding your place. F you too UNSW ... I could have better spent that money on clothes or alcohol or cake or some combination of the three.

Today in summary I ...

*had a calzone, like on seinfeld, I'd never had one before, it turns out I love them.

*saw the last Lord of the Rings, which was far too long but funny as I mainly amused myself by thinking my crazy thoughts "You know, he really needs to exfoliate ... I swear to god Frodo, if you don't drop that ring into the lava or at least admit you're gay and love Sam after making me watch you for a total of nine freaking hours, I'm walkin' right out!" Also I nearly cried during completely non-poignant moments just because the music was overly dramatic, and during tense or boring moments I mimed the actions the characters should have been doing. You really don't want to be sitting next to me at the movies.

*ate ice cream to the point of bursting and cackled, cackled like a crazy mad woman hen.

*made a sand-dragon at the beach, completely disproportioned and nutty and thus amusing.

I didn't exercise though and I sweeeaaar I've gained hospital fat, or have become impregnated without noticing, hopefully not the latter... but it's all good in so much as now I just have to bring down the economy and bring fat people back into fashion. No problemo.

It's good to be out again, to be able to move somewhat freely, and that's enough for now... but otherwise homelife is gnawing, I can't explain how difficult it is to make progress with someone who can't remember, every day brings a new thing or twelve that I have to dig or claw my way around, and even then I'm not often successful, or not enough for my liking, never enough. I want to do so much more but I don't know if I have it in me, doubt I ever will.

I'm sure I could worry myself to death if I tried, but I don't want that so let us not.

January is nearly over! Over! I can't believe February is practically upon us, vulturous February waiting to rip out our innards so that we don't notice the rest of the year swoop by because of all the blood/organ loss.

Okay, it probably (hopefully) won't be anything like that at all, I just resent it for being the last month of holidays, for not being long enough, and also for having valentine's day in it.

My printer is dying, I must decide whether to save it (clean the printer head) or euthanise it (throw against a wall) now ... the latter is looking appealing... good night for now.


<< >>