Well I'm not sure what I'm looking for...
2001-11-22 - 12:51 p.m.

So I haven't written lately, but nyah, deal with it. I'm mid-way through a vanishing act, so don't whine or interrupt me, or you might miss the part where I disappear.

Meanwhile, I find myself wishing my mother would get a life of her own and stop trying to mess with mine. The other day I caught myself thinking "Wow, my home would be such a pleasant place if only my parents didn't live here..."

Does anyone else live with a person who just never shuts up and whines and nags and complains every day and all day? Yeah, tell me about it! This person is my mother. God save me from morphing into her in later years.

She doesn't seem to get that when you treat a person like a five year old, that gives them complete license to act like one. If she would just stop treating me like a child (she still tries to tell me when to get up, go to bed, eat, go out ... I mean my god. How can I be expected to live under these conditions?) then maybe I could act like the adult everyone else thinks I am (or, at least, knows I could be - the responsible, reliable, honest, sycophantic one)....

And she never, ever listens to what I'm saying. Like this morning, we were having a fight about my sleeping habits, because I have a night owl thing going a lot at the moment. She of course was whining about how it's abnormal and everybody else sleeps at night, which made me bring up the point that "just because everybody else does it, doesn't mean it's the right way to do things," then I jumped into a whole thing about society's preconceptions on right or wrong, which made her blink and then go back to her "I don't care! It's wrong! It's wrong!" ... I mean my god. Half the time it's very difficult to win arguments with her, and not because she doesn't understand what I'm saying, because I usually break it down into the simplest terms possible ... but just because she isn't listening! Do you have any idea how hard it is to win an argument with someone who ignores everything you say and just repeats their own side incessantly, like there is no other side to it?

I mean, urgh.

Meanwhile, I'm back to thinking about moving out. I seriously need her out of my hair (yes, she is ruining my hair ... I don't know what I meant by that). But of course, this requires money, something I'm starting to lack what with the lack of a job and all. Would you like to help support me? Email me your cheques to help fund the Buy Babs her sanity back! campaign. Hey, and if there's enough money left over, we could do something about my scary, scary hair.

As my friend Alex once jokingly said "...It's for a really good cause ... Me!"


<< >>