Throw me in the sky to see if I can fly
2002-08-04 - 9:44 p.m.

I feel like if I hear one more thing go "Beep!" I will completely lose it by smashing things, screaming, passing out ... and all simultaneously.

Now that's entertainment.

Work today, and am obviously very fed up with the Beep noise which accompanies barcode scanning.

But with that and my headache and stomach ow and general moody aside, it was good.

Except for the fact that was working across from F-M-H-B for two hours, the one day I can't be bothered to wash my hair instead deciding the rest of the world can just live with it for a change...

Urgh. But I was good. I didn't stare (for which I deserve applause considering past behaviours) and at one point I got to hear him laughing.

Can I just say, melt? The word is inextricably tattoed into my brain by now, surely ... and at some points he was looking at me, I could see/feel it...

I don't know what's going on with that/me/him/there. But then, do I ever?

Was stuck on stupid register which lacked a conveyor belt today (incidental punishment for being late). Customers kept asking why I lacked one, and I had to answer "I guess I'm just not special," and smile ruefully (rue-fully?)...

All laughed and yet none defended my specialness. Aw.

Yesterday I had to deal with a non-English speaking customer, that was difficult.

It started out okay until I got to the 2nd item and she started saying more somethings in her native tongue, with motions of stop accompanying it...

"You ... don't want it anymore?" I guessed, which was followed by more other language speak, which she said slowly and carefully as if that would make me get it.

"You ... want it on a seperate reciept?" More other language speak, which I somehow translated to mean a yes.

Scan, scan, pack, pack, and I thought the language barrier difficulty was over as I started to serve the next customer. But no, she stood at my register and said something and awaited an answer...

"Oh.... okay?" I guessed. Insert more somethings from her and a small cackle from a nearby customer, who happened to be of similar descent.

"She says," translated the customer while beaming "That you understand Chinese very well!"

Chuckles from everyone around to hear it, considering my complete lack of Chinese and obvious guesswork.

I love when I learn things at uni that automatically apply to my real life. Language, minus the obvious communicating deal, is all about context.

So ends my three-day work week and onwards to my four-day uni week.

I'm running myself ragged, everybody knows it but what they don't see is that if I give myself too much room to breathe I end up drowning in the oxygen.

9am start. Yurgh. Maths. There is nothing else to be said... night.


<< >>