I got hit by a bus, walked under a train ... only not so much
2002-04-12 - 6:02 p.m.

I was running late for meeting Shelley the other day, and was in a rush to cross the road to Railway Square.

The signal for pedestrians not to walk had started flashing, but the cars hadn't stared moving yet. A woman nearby started to cross quickly, as did I, because I work on "if that person can cross and not get hit by car, then so can I"

Of course what the lady hadn't factored in (and consequently neither had I) was the rapidly approaching bus. After a nanosecond of panic, I turned around and skedaddled back to the curb. As did she, and we were both thankfully not hit by bus due to our own stupidity.

Anyway, the part about this story that really says something about me is that as I noticed the bus and darted back out of its path I instantaneously called out "Sorry!" ... even if the bus had hit and killed me, I still would have felt sorry for getting in its way.


<< >>