there's just no chance for you and me
2003-02-02 - 9:40 p.m.

I have a terrible, terrible not very well hidden secret that has been slowly and quietly plaguing me for a while now.

But I feel that I must confess and face the shame it is sure to bring.

I mean I tried to fight these feelings I've been having but there's just nothing I can do anymore, so I guess I'm ready to let the world know I am as much of an idiot/loser everyone thinks I am. I'm cleaning out my closet, or coming out of it rather, and it's time to tell the world...

I think I like Justin Timberlake... (please insert despairing noises of choice).

I've been trying so hard to justify (argh, baaaad pun, sorry) rationalise it by saying things like "how can you not like someone who ditched Britney..." or current favourite "how can you not like someone who succeeds in the music industry without talent OR looks??" but neither is quite covering it at the moment. Give me some time, maybe I can come up with something better, but til then I would be muchos grateful if someone could point me in the direction of a good Justin Timberlake Anonymous centre...

"Hi, my name is Barbara, and I do emphatic chair dancing while listening to Cry me a river,"
"Hullo Barbara,"

In other news, have decided that my best leap to fame and money would be in manner of Ben Affleck and Matt Damon.

See, was watching Good Will Hunting earlier, which is an okay movie but am confident given the time, motivation, and some good support better could be done. By me, obviously, and the girl I frequently side-kick for. We'd write and star in it of course, making a quick and efficient rise to fame(=money)... I'd be the it-girl at first but her good looks would make for her long-standing popularity with the public and before you know it I would be rich but out of work and she would be dating the male version of J-Lo.

I know it's crazy, and I know I'm crazy for thinking it's not so crazy, but still... I don't think there's anything we couldn't do if we really threw ourselves into it.

I need more time though. I believe any and all the writing skills I might have once possessed have rusted so badly that if I were given the chance to bite a good writer (and given the chance, I'm sure that I would) they would have contracted literary tetanus before you could even process how neglected my poor former skills must be.

Give me time and a direction and I like to think I'll get there in the end, despite unnerving lack of compass.

In other other news... the clock is ticking and the next two days feel like they are actually a fortnight's worth of events compressed into a real tight space. Trying to find words to say goodbye to someone (even if only for a year), birthday partying, and of course the eternal need to shop despite abject poverty.

Stay true and find a way to achieve your most unachieveable dreams because I know you can do it.. everyone's beautiful if you take the time to look.

Except of course the ugly people.

Sleep tight.


<< >>