Old and darkened
2002-11-15 - 7:34 p.m.

There is something... alarming about hearing a nine year old you have known her entire life whining about not wanting to get her period.

She's nine, I don't think I had a vague clue on the existance of monthly ow til I was at least 12, and even then I didn't think for a second I would be affected by it until later when I was affected by it.

Even so, there is something so nice about watching someone grow up. Worries about exactly how society will mutate her aside.

More alarming: I am alone with the sister-in-law who I have not seen for months for a mere five minutes and this is the direction of conversation:

"So, what's new?"
"Er, nothing much, keeping busy..."
"What about uni? DO you have a boyfriend?"
"Hah, no."
"C'mon, there are plenty of them around. Not even someone you like??"
"Uh, no, not really..."
"Not really eh? so there is someone! Come on... tell me!"
*whiney protestations*
"Come on!"
"I...um... oh wow look at the time better get back to my studying," *speedy exit*

It's so weird to think about how all my friends (and even you, relative stranger who I fondly think of as friend to delude myself into thinking I have a wider circle of friends) know every detail about my boy obsessive weirdness and my family is all in the dark.

Not that that's a bad, I very much like and intend to keep them in the dark for if god had wanted families to know about the romantic life about each individual, well then, ... uh... he wouldn't have made speaking about it optional.

Heh. Always finishing weaker than I started. Oh well.


<< >>