We just stare while the wheels fall off
2002-06-11 - 4:19 p.m.

Do you ever get the feeling that there's definitely a conscious being controlling your life and everything around you, and you definitely aren't it?

... Just me then.

Last night was fun. Me and Shelley went to the city in hopes of seeing her cute barman (but alas the bar was closed) so we ended up at the star bar type place.

We watched some soccer, attempted to cheer people on ... "Which team's Belgium? I intend to support them because of their fine contribution to the chocolate industry,"
"Uh ... white?"
"Really?"
"Well, that makes the most sense... white, chocolate..."

We had midori and lemonades and after convincing her to play pool we got all addicted to it. We're pretty bad at it but it didn't really show as much until some guys challenged us to a doubles match thing...

We 'drew' the first game, but only because we first confused them about which colour they were and because as they hit the 8 ball they sunk our last ball as well.

And guess what, we won the decider in spite of my continual need to sink the white ball and we didn't even need to cheat! Although I suppose it should be noted that they sunk the 8 ball accidently just after Shelley had very subtle-y swiped one of our remaining balls off the table...

Weird guys by the way. Opening line to us "So ... are either of you Japanese?" pauses from us as I declare "Well ... I'm not," just in case my face which is obviously of european descent wasn't explicit enough.

Ooooh, but weirder was us on the bus on the way home when me and Shelley are all quietly happy about the generally normal pleasant evening til we see a car with a blue light in it pull up to the lights next to us and look in it to find one of the guys (I didn't really catch his name) we were playing pool with!

He made surprised faces and some "It's you guys!" type gestures to us while we shrieked and made "Ahhh! What are you doing there?!" gestures to him.

And then when my dad picked me up I turned on the radio to hear the exact same song I had heard when I left the car, on the same station ... strange because I had even made my dad circle the block when he dropped me off so I could hear more than just the beginning of it.

Am currently depressed because the Cinema gig is next week and with approaching exam hell the chances of anyone wanting to go with me are none.

All these coincidences so quietly fine tuned and orchestrated ... Life is the weird.

Today was quiet, a lil uneventful stress from a call from Milly (my boss at checkoutchick work) who as it turned out only wanted me to work an extra shift... but calls from her make me panic ...

Last quiz thing in psych, did not so well but bah. Remind me to collect my report from psych place after work on friday ... oh and we found out the test in a fortnight which constitutes 50% of our final grade will be 120 multiple choice questions...

Huzzah! I know it won't be easy but I rock hardcore at multiple choice.

Went to Philosophy lecture for a change. Even though the topic of sex/gender distinction was by no means dull (a fair portion was spent discussing transsexuals) I still yawned my way through it.

Went to Maroubra in search of new top, came back with Thai food so wasn't a total loss. But still, nothing new to wear to tomorrow's last linguistics tutorial...

Sigh. Oh well if my body is to look crap I should at least make sure my mind... seems present. Will do this by completing homework.

Leaving you with a Motor Ace snippet. I want the album which isn't out yet. And this is a song which I think everyone needs to get to know, because it is the much good.

[We just stare while
The wheels fall off
But everyone seems to carry on, carry on
No time to tell you
How much we lost
'Cause everyone needs to carry on, carry on]


<< >>