I have a mental illness. "Addiction-to-unhealthy-net-relationships"-itis. Sadly uncurable ... uh-oh
2002-06-17 - 4:35 p.m.

Am avoiding starting ling assignment despite needing to have it finished by tonight.

Have employed all usual avoidance tactics including: sleeping in til noon, eating, washing hair, eating, dawdling on the net, eating.

Should I be saying uh-oh yet? Maybe.

While half asleep I was having net people thoughts, and have realised I have some kind of bad net person addiction.

For further clarification let's examine the evidence/history. Well, I will feel further clarified at any rate and you, you can be amazed at the patheticity of my illness. Will be dealing with the five most major case studies, although there have surely been more inconsequential smaller ones that I have forgotten/blocked out. Ready? Okay let's go...

Netboy #1: Worthy


Aw, reflecting on this makes me feel old because it was so long ago. Started when I was what, 15? Was on and off for over a year.

He was a few years older, I think 19 at the time? Who keeps track of these things, not me apparently. Major incidents in "relationship" (how can you call anything that happens on the net a relationship without inverted commas? I just can't) include a non-date which wasn't organised by me so when I was stood up I was awfully relieved. Not so for the person who organised it who called him up on my phone, said "Bastard!" and hung up repeatedly. LOL.

Never was anything of major substance here despite length, a few conversations with semi-depth going maybe and just an overwhelming amount of flirting.

Overall lameness factor: 3 stars. Although he may have had some redeeming features like respecting me, being overly sweet all the time, and being there when I needed him, I can without doubt say that the only thing I took away from this net encounter was a substantially increased knowledge of bad pick up lines.

Netboy #2: Neo


LOL thinking about this one again, as it never actually progressed. I think I kind of wanted it to though... smart guy, we had many torturously long emails discussing anything and everything in detail. It doesn't really constitute as a case study but it does get 3.5 stars just because of my lameness alone.

Netboy #3: Angel


I can't for the life of me remember his real name now, oops. Lasted only a month or two til we just sort of lost contact.

He was French, lived in France. He was an artist (melt) and he used to send me drawings and sketches he'd done and tell me little bits about his life...

He was the best listener and very sweet. But his English wasn't great... and hello says the non-naive girl in me, he very well could have been some elderly guy faking a non-knowledge of english and sending me drawings he'd found on the net somehow. That's why this lil thing gets an overall lameness factor of 2.5 stars.

Netboy #4: Cowboy


Aw! This one still kinda gives me fuzzy feelings. You gotta love a guy who starts off the beginning of an, uh, 'acquaintance' by proposing.

You're laughing now I'm sure, so might as well shock you out of the laughter (or possibly further into it) by saying I accepted.

Tumultuous was this one as he was not over an ex-girlfriend and as I freaked him out by being awfully depressed many a time.

But probably best boy of all the case studies, because we could talk for hours if given the chance about nothing in particular. And he was so sweet... Are we noticing a pattern here?

But he wasn't much like his predecessors. For one, waaaay closer to my own age at the time (it faded before I turned 17 though) and we had far less in common. He smoked and was all gettingy in fights and things, but still I ... uh, what's an appropriate verb here ... I liked him I guess.

Lameness factor of 2.5 stars. Sidenote thought: before my computer died the other month I still had pictures and letters from above guys... In a way I regret losing all of it because now it's be easier to reflect with those things at hand, but on other hand it's good I can wipe my computer (and consequentially my own memory) of these horriciously lame ... experiences? "relationships"? Whatever, I think you're with me now. And finally...

Netboy #5: Maths Guy


I can't be bothered to explain this one in detail, if you need background you can get most of it here.

Admittedly I may have 'liked' him at a time but:
(a) this was waaaaaaaay before the stalking turn of events and hell even a good deal before he realised he liked me.
(b) and anyway this liking only extended in so far as I liked a part of him and the rest which didn't mesh with me I dismissed or rebuilt in my head.

Meanwhile he's gone for now but I know it's only temporary as always. I know this is my mess to undo, apparently although I didn't lead him on I also didn't not lead him on. So now the only trouble is, how do I say you're a nice enough person but you don't really mesh with my personality - you bore me more often than you interest me, you DON'T LIKE MUSIC (!), and for heavensakes how could I ever be with a Maths Guy? I hate maths!

Of course the dilemma here is not having a nice way to say it. It has become pretty clear that that is the most important thing as I get the feeling I could break him much more easily than anyone would think.

And besides which it's all made more difficult as voices inside scream I may as well just settle with him, because of all my inner and outer(esp. outer) flaws I will never get anything better and better him than ending up as old spinster with many hairless cats.

Conclusion: I so have some weird net guy addiction, possibly guy addiction in general whereby am only interested in them because they aren't interested in me (as shown by cases #2 and #5), until they are and I lose interest... or else am only interested in them as a form of distraction (cases #1, #3, #4) and hence the "relationship" just becomes some weird virtual game for me that makes me forget the other players exist in reality (case #5).

I'm sick! I need psychological treatment, or at very least some more slapping (as practiced by Shelley)...

Do you think they make a patch for this?


<< >>