Slightly feverish
2002-06-15 - 8:02 p.m.

I am being of the mildly saddened lately because all the countries I support in the world cup seem to be falling out or be about to fall out.

I suspect it has something to do with the way that I choose them, example:
"Oooh! Belgium! They make good chocolate!"
"Oooh! Portugal! They make yummy chicken burgers!"

Hence now I am changing tack (tack? is that a word?) by deciding to support Denmark. This of course is purely based on the fact that they came very last in eurovision and I felt bad that they couldn't out pop-ify other european nations.

Am becoming world cup addict. It's so hard not to love something which claims to be a non/low contact sport and yet every minute there is someone falling, sliding, pretending to fall, or pushing someone...

Especially love the type of fall where it's quite obvious they have given opponent violent shove, and then immediately stick hands up in the air as if to say "I couldn't have pushed him, my hands are all the way up here, see?"

Speaking of pushing reminds me of Portugal/South Korea game. Was already endeared to Portugal because of chicken burgers, but could not resist cheering them on because of marvellous team names such as "Petit", "Pinto", and "Beto."

Also fell in mock love with players Figo and Couto...

Figo because he looks very much like someone from Passions, and Couto because his first name was Fernando (aw!) and because he looked exactly like the love-child of Fabio and Antonio Banderas... heh.

So more than enough said. Work = fine, Uni work = very behind, holidays = too far away. Dying to go shopping. Dying to go to Marble Bar again. Dying to play pool. Basically just dying to get all the crap out of the way. Same old...


<< >>