Fireworks, nonmetaphorical and otherwise ...
2001-11-11 - 3:15 p.m.

...Damn, your mother's nosy friend is here: ... Damn indeed. *tries to look like she's studying* ... does every mother have that kind of friend, or is it just mine? You know the one, that talks really loudly and gossips about everyone on the planet and then some? Just mine? Dang.

What have you been up to?: I spent last night on the phone with Shelley as we watched the very exciting election coverage together. Highlights of the evening included -
*Watching the Channel 7 team try and float a mini blimp past the other stations
*Laughing at things that probably weren't really that funny ... e.g. "Hahahaha! That guy's bald!"
*Going "awwwww!" at the speeches of Kim Beazley and John Howard, or as he should now be referred to, "J-Ho"...
*Wishing we could run for a seat just so we could dress up and make the whole thing more exciting...
*Sending fake emails to Roy and H.G (Channel 7 main covering funny guys) asking them to mess up Ray Martin's hair. Does anyone else think Ray has had a dye job recently?
*Spotting a guy doing coverage who may just be my perfect match. Since Shelley is always telling me off for my bad posture, I was the first to notice how bad his was, and then Shelley noticed that he was clutching his arms the exact same way I do! His name was Mitch Catlin *swoon swoon* and okay he looks much worse in this picture -


but damnit, I could so be his fifties housewife, don't you think?

Speaking of guys that make you swoon, aren't you seeing Tony Lee Scott sometime soon?: Kind of but hey! How did you find that out? You're been reading Shelley's diary haven't you?! Cheat on me behind my back why don't you :p

Yeah but only a little, ever since you stopped writing in me everyday, Miss Inconsistent: I second my :p. Meanwhile, for those non-Australian/non-Shelley-readers out there, Tony Lee Scott is a popstar over here who hasn't exactly made it big yet, but he's trying, and I find that very cute. To learn more of Tony Lee Scott, you can go to my website and you can also see pictures of him there that are less bad then the one Shelley has put up in her entry ... like this one.

So, are you seeing TLS sometime soon or not?!: Well, yes. Shelley, Vyva, Missy and I are seeing him perform at the Hard Rock Cafe next Friday, so if you're in Sydney feel free to show up and say "Hey, aren't you those crazy people with diaries?" at which we will nod politely. So not only do you get to point and laugh at us crazy people (who are bound to do something embarrassing, I might add. Shelley and I cannot be in the same room without at least one of us, if not both, causing a situation involving severe embarrassment to arise) but you can also enjoy TLS's performance, as he always sounds much better live (and looks much better in person, *nudge nudge, wink wink*) ...

Cool! Well, I know I'm going: You bet you are! Considering that you're me....

Well, more like you're me, but moving on...: Well, not really, but I'll move on anyway ... There were fireworks over my house the other night! The school nearby decided to have fireworks in the park one house away from us. Soooo beautiful, I almost wanted to die right there and then... but it took me a while to discern that it was fireworks ...
Babs hearing one loud noise, her mind: ...That's just a car backfiring.
Babs hearing a few loud noises, her mind: ... That's just someone going on a shooting rampage.
Babs hearing many loud noises, her mind: ... That's just Bin Laden dropping a bunch of bombs on us.
Babs hearing many loud noises continuously, her mind: ... *click* Fireworks!!!

Wow, you're slow: Yeah, I'm you remember :p ... But let's have a little pop quiz. When is the best time to take off a face mask? Is it:
(a) What do you mean take one off?! I wouldn't put one on!
(b) Just after you experience the tingly, wooo-it's-working sensation.
(c) When it starts to feel uncomfortable.
(d) After you run around the house screaming "I'm burning, I'm burning! My face is on fire!!"

Well, after trying this at three am this morning I can only tell you the correct answer is NOT D. It turns out that I wasn't supposed to use it on any sensitive parts of my face (who knew I was sensitive? Well yeah, okay, the Rugrats movie did make me cry but trust me, it was a very sad moment...) Anyway, here's a tip in case you're silly like me and you ever apply anything to anywhere and it burns -

Use cold water on it, as it not only soothes but closes the pores and stops them from absorbing more stuff-that-burns.


<< >>