Start at the end and end at the beginning.
2001-12-07 - 11:50 a.m.

Haven't written for a while. I suppose I've been busy. Hmmm ...

So there's peace, of a kind, in my household for now. My Dad morphed from neutral Switzerland into superpower America and stepped in to break it all up.

It's always a shock when you realise that in your WWII metaphor, you're Nazi Germany. But eh, I escaped severe punishment relatively easily.

I've been all non obsessive lately, I've become very bad at tracing my obsessions lately. Like I was flicking through this magazine yesterday with Alex and I noticed an article dedicated to the marriage of my former obsession, Angel, and I read it feeling stunned "He's getting married?! And having a baby?!". I thought perhaps that obsession had just been superseded by my latest thing, Tony Lee Scott. But then today I hear that he was on the Bert Newton show (is it called that?) yesterday morning. Crud. How'd I manage to miss that?

Meanwhile, I catch myself listening to his 'version' of Silent Night on repeat at nights. It's really ultra soothing ... I find myself being lulled into calm as it plays on my discman. There's something very relaxing about him singing "Sleep in heavenly peace" in my ear.

Although there is definitely something very wrong about him saying the word virgin.

Listening to it last night, I had this thought. Do you ever wonder about what life would be like if it had all happened in reverse - bizzaro life? Like all the things you had done to/for others were done to/for you. What if I had been the flailing popstar? What if I had been the one being a support act for Leah Haywood ... well, no, in bizarro land it would probably be 'Leon Haywood'. I can actually see myself singing on stage. Being a popstar (notquite), of course, I have much better hair. And what if he had been in the audience, watching me sing?

... It's weird. Would life still play out the same way if it played in reverse?

I should go eat something. Meeting Shelley in Maroubra soonish but not. Going to Carina's 18th later. Must get her a present ... Mmmm. Catch you later.

Ciao


<< >>